• August 07, 2020, 09:05:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30  (Read 1760 times)

cocododo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2020, 07:01:50 PM »

I just upgrade FW from 1.2 to 1.3, and I notice my USB 3.0 port working as USB 2.0 or less. I have tried to use different 3.0 flash drives but have the same result.
And I attempt to reset to the factory default. With no adjusting, the USB 3.0 port is still not working.
After all, I find out the flash drive becoming extremely hot even though I don't use it for a while.
I immediately know there is something wrong because I have the same issue when my flash drive crashes.
I have reverted to FW 1.2, and everything becomes normal as usual.
I am sure FW 1.3 has a serious problem and suggest to revert to FW 1.2 immediately.
Your USB devices may be burned out while using FW 1.3.

The issue has been reported to Dlink tech group. Hope they will fix it.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2020, 07:08:09 PM by cocododo »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2020, 08:04:49 PM »

Thanks for reporting it to D-Link support and letting us know.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kbuck320

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2020, 09:09:24 AM »

Next time try a factory reset and setup from scratch after applying a FW update to see if the problem still continues.


That's one of those things that's easy to say, very painful to execute.    I'm supposed to remember all the things I've set up and re-do them all?    And that might not even fix the issue?

Yeah, no thanks on that one.  How about instead, D-Link figures out how to create a firmware upgrade process that works and doesn't break functionality?   :'(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2020, 09:26:04 AM »

What backup config files are for.

A reset will be needed to check this.

Please let D-Link support know of your experiences as well.

Godo Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kbuck320

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2020, 10:07:47 AM »

What backup config files are for.

A reset will be needed to check this.

Please let D-Link support know of your experiences as well.

Godo Luck.

Ah, so that's a better instruction:  Back up your config .. reset to defaults .. reinstall config.

That is not "setting up from scratch" as you wrote.

Also .. you write that I should let DLink support know .. That's what this forum (should) be for.  I would have assumed you are a DLink employee.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2020, 10:48:27 AM »

Yes, you can make a backup configuration first, then factory reset and setup from scratch. Test for the problem prior to applying the backup configuration.

No. The forum is for user experiences and problems to be posted about and for user and community to help out to resolve the issues as best as we can. IF we can't resolve them, then users need to chat/phone/email D-Link support to continue to get the problem resolved.

No.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Iangho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2020, 05:19:59 PM »

I did "Back up your config .. reset to defaults .. reinstall config" and it looks like it's working fine. Had to change admin password to include a number, which I don't understand why. The main thing was not having to re-assign IP addresses.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2020, 10:26:59 PM »

Glad the reset worked.

Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2020, 10:29:57 PM »

For anyone in the EU region, you may want to apply the DIR-882 FW from that region to your router.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=75671.msg307429#msg307429
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Iangho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #24 on: July 12, 2020, 01:19:56 AM »

I went back to 1.2 as 1.3 wireless signal was weaker and speed slower on both 2.4 and 5.0.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #25 on: July 12, 2020, 12:07:22 PM »

Please contact D-Link support to report your findings.

Thank you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Iangho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #26 on: July 12, 2020, 02:36:00 PM »

FurryNutz, this is for you. I tried 1.3 again. I restored to factory settings and thought I would try by setting up the router manually from scratch - not using the config file. Added wireless, added statics, etc., but my ethernet laptop couldn't access the internet. I then reverted to 1.2 and tried manual inputs, again I couldn't browse. Strange thing is that the voip system registered with both 1.3 and 1.2 - I have Freepbx on a raspi, OBI device, and Siemens C470IP. By now I'm getting frantic because it's way past my bedtime and I don't have a clue. I rolled the dice and restored using a config file and everything started working again.

For my learning, can you explain this, FurryNutz? I thought that if I restored to factory settings the router would forget all previous clients. I tried on numerous occasions rebooting my modem and router to no avail.

If I ever wanted to start completely from scratch - wiping the router to what is was in the box when brand new - is there a way?
Logged

me_iauras

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2020, 02:45:13 AM »

I think the only way to do a full wipe is to write the firmware via recovery method .
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49041
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-882 Firmware v1.30
« Reply #28 on: July 13, 2020, 10:59:17 AM »

Did you also remove the wifi profile on the laptop, reboot the LT, then attempt to reconnect the LT to the router and get internet access?
Seems like something is going on with the configuration of the LT rather then the router.
Ensure the laptops wifi and ethernet adapter drivers are up to date.

I've had mine connected using v1.30 and haven't seen any issues with my Mac Book pro or Lenovo LT or any of my devices as a matter of fact.

FurryNutz, this is for you. I tried 1.3 again. I restored to factory settings and thought I would try by setting up the router manually from scratch - not using the config file. Added wireless, added statics, etc., but my ethernet laptop couldn't access the internet. I then reverted to 1.2 and tried manual inputs, again I couldn't browse. Strange thing is that the voip system registered with both 1.3 and 1.2 - I have Freepbx on a raspi, OBI device, and Siemens C470IP. By now I'm getting frantic because it's way past my bedtime and I don't have a clue. I rolled the dice and restored using a config file and everything started working again.

For my learning, can you explain this, FurryNutz? I thought that if I restored to factory settings the router would forget all previous clients. I tried on numerous occasions rebooting my modem and router to no avail.

If I ever wanted to start completely from scratch - wiping the router to what is was in the box when brand new - is there a way?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 [2]