• November 27, 2020, 09:44:22 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message  (Read 1592 times)

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« on: March 06, 2020, 09:55:17 AM »

Turn on TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 in Advanced settings and try connecting to https://127.0.0.1:51383  again. If this error persists, it is possible that this site uses an unsupported protocol or cipher suite such as RC4 (link for the details), which is not considered secure. Please contact your site administrator.

Change settings

I get the above message after upgrading to the latest beta firmware. The settings are in fact already turned on in IE. What to do next? Is this a known problem?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2020, 11:26:52 AM »

Is this a message from IE 11?  at login?

if you use another browser to test do you get a similar error? Try another computer?

I haven't seen or heard of this error message.

What hardware revision is your 202L?

Also try enabling SSL 3.0 (Internet Options > Advanced tab > scroll down to Security)
« Last Edit: March 06, 2020, 11:40:04 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2020, 03:33:15 PM »

Are you using 64 bit IE?

I have TLS 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 on. 1.3 experimental is off.

Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2020, 12:16:02 AM »

Yes am using IE 11 final version 64 bit. As you know when you access the DNR 201L, DLINK has one program then you can click link to another one that is a newer version (but old by now). Its funky but I like the newer version. It is through the newer version you can upgrade the firmware by PC. Thats what I did but I want to log back into it and when I try I get the error I posted. Ive accessd that version 100's of times but post firrmware upgrade it doesnt work. That may be OK but how can I update the firmware in the future if cannot access it??????
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2020, 12:21:40 AM »

http://nabilamandaaa.blogspot.com/2019/01/how-to-set-up-and-install-dnr-202l.html

Not my screen but I found the above snapshot on the Internet. You see the gear icon? Well I clicked that to upgrate the firmware. It was successfull as far as I can tell (remotely) my DNR is working properly. However, post firmware upgrade I cannot get this screen at all. I was able to access this screen prior to upgrade. Now I get the error message I posted. No changes to my computer hardware or software from before the upgrade at all. What to do?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2020, 07:45:54 AM »

Which Windows version are you using?  And if Win10, which version of that?
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2020, 12:47:32 AM »

I'm using W7 64 bit. IE 11.  Fully updated. Like I said I had not problems prior to the firmware upgade. Using the same steps to attept to access that upgade screen I got the error message.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 303
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2020, 11:21:22 PM »

So no one can help?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2020, 06:59:02 AM »

Did you try this? - Also try enabling SSL 3.0 (Internet Options > Advanced tab > scroll down to Security)

Try a different browser?

Clear cache?

Disable any firewall/internet security software to test.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2020, 10:14:36 AM »

So no one can help?

I keep meaning to log into my remaining win 7pc to try there
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1, and TLS 1.2 Message
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2020, 04:07:27 PM »

So no one can help?

WIN7 64 bit pro- missing updates - I started blocking once MS was tracking, and gave up a year later with updates.

IE 11.0.9600.18837
KB047206
tls 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 enabled

Logged in fine, installed NVR control, and was viewing and doing playback.

Logged