• November 26, 2020, 07:19:25 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS  (Read 911 times)

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« on: April 12, 2020, 07:40:33 AM »

I replace my HDD 4TB to 8TB Seagate Barracuda and works normally for a few months (you can read my post on compatible HDD topic). And since yesterday my NAS DNS-320L FW 1.11 can't find my 8TB drive. I have a message on my email that my HDD reported CRASHED. So I look at my NAS and seems normal, I login to my NAS and try to restart and same problem, only 1 HDD 4TB recognize by NAS, the 8TB is missing. I look at the indicator that the blue flash light on 8TB longer than the 4TB. About 3-4 minutes the blue light been solid and then I try to login to my NAS and the 8TB drive still missing. I moved the 8TB drive to my PC and the files is okay, I tested drive used CrystalDiskInfo and said drive is ok and HEALTH. Is it a problem by the power that supply to the drive? I search on youtube similar problem and he fix the NAS with adding capacitor to NAS board which missing by factory default.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2020, 06:02:14 AM »

Possible the 8Tb drive is drawing more power than the DNS can provide...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2020, 07:47:57 AM »

Possible the 8Tb drive is drawing more power than the DNS can provide...

How to fix it?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2020, 08:27:18 AM »

Something that not sure if it can be fixed. If the information in the youtube video is good, you can try that if your so inclined and have the tools to do that. Contact the youtube poster for more information.
Is there a link to this video?

Other then that, theirs nothing else we can do. I presume by design, the DNS may not fully support larger sized TB drives or was never meant to.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2020, 08:38:13 AM »

Something that not sure if it can be fixed. If the information in the youtube video is good, you can try that if your so inclined and have the tools to do that. Contact the youtube poster for more information.
Is there a link to this video?

Other then that, theirs nothing else we can do. I presume by design, the DNS may not fully support larger sized TB drives or was never meant to.

You can check the youtube link below:
https://youtu.be/xb1KDNYMp30

I try to move the 8TB drive to PC and works perfect, after checking the drive and test it the result is Health and good condition. And then I try to put it back to NAS and work normally. NAS find the drive, I can access it normal using windows 10. I don't know why the NAS reported the drive is CRASHED before.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2020, 08:41:36 AM by japum »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2020, 09:12:49 AM »

Probably a false positive reporting.
Might look into adding those caps to see if this helps.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2020, 09:30:54 AM »

Probably a false positive reporting.
Might look into adding those caps to see if this helps.

I try to deep test to 8TB HDD on NAS and seem normal right now, we'll see how far it goes up. I hope there are no crash and error anymore.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2020, 09:35:33 AM »

Ok, thanks for letting us know. Hope it works for you. Let us know if something happens.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1480
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2020, 11:06:52 AM »

One thing to note when using larger than designed hard disks you will need a larger power supply than the provided 12v@3A one, it is essential if you use two of the larger disks.

In the example given of the 8TB Seagate Barracuda that drive requires 12v@2A just to spin up the disks which leaves only 12v@1A to be used (and converted to 5v) for the electronics.  Add in the fact that power supplies lose output as they age (at least the simple ones used with this NAS do because of capacitors being degraded).  Adding capacitors to the NAS motherboard will, at best, improve the peak power available for a short time only.

To be sure of having enough power to run large drives the power brick need to be upgraded to 12v@5A at least.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 01:43:07 PM by ivan »
Logged

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2020, 10:06:22 AM »

One thing to note when using larger than designed hard disks you will need a larger power supply than the provided 12v@3A one, it is essential if you use two of the larger disks.

In the example given of the 8TB Seagate Barracuda that drive requires 12v@2A just to spin up the disks which leaves only 12v@1A to be used (and converted to 5v) for the electronics.  Add in the fact that power supplies lose output as they age (at least the simple ones used with this NAS do because of capacitors being degraded).  Adding capacitors to the NAS motherboard will, at best, improve the peak power available for a short time only.

To be sure of having enough power to run large drives the power brick need to be upgraded to 121v@5A at least.

Halo Ivan, thank you for your info. I do look at my HDD 8TB Seagate Barracuda it's spec power is +12v  0.37A, +5v 0.55A.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1480
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2020, 01:42:33 PM »

Hi japum,

There is a difference between run power and start power.  According to Seagate the peak startup power is 2A and the run power is the 0.37A you give.  If you look at the power curve on an oscilloscope you can see the sharp spike in power as the disk starts followed by a rapid drop to the run level - it is that spike that is the problem usually caused by the capacitors in the power supply ageing and not being able to supply that spike, hence adding capacitors on the NAS supply rail will help.   
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 01:45:14 PM by ivan »
Logged

japum

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Need Help HDD Can't Recognize by NAS
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2020, 12:40:33 AM »

Hi japum,

There is a difference between run power and start power.  According to Seagate the peak startup power is 2A and the run power is the 0.37A you give.  If you look at the power curve on an oscilloscope you can see the sharp spike in power as the disk starts followed by a rapid drop to the run level - it is that spike that is the problem usually caused by the capacitors in the power supply ageing and not being able to supply that spike, hence adding capacitors on the NAS supply rail will help.

Thank you Ivan.
Logged