• August 12, 2020, 07:54:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Cannot ping anything outside the router!  (Read 746 times)

et3rnal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« on: May 06, 2020, 04:35:01 AM »

Hi,

I have
Model Name: DIR-2680   
Hardware Version: A1   
Firmware Version: 1.04

Since I installed it I can't get the ping to work at all!, I tried pinging 8.8.8.8, 1.1.1.1 and many more it doesn't seem to work and it doesn't matter from where I try that.

I have smart devices cant connect to the internet anymore since I got it, pinging the server isn't working
I have reset it few time tried to change the configurations a bit without luck. Any idea??

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2020, 05:59:35 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Do you have D-Link Defend enabled on the router?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

et3rnal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2020, 03:07:28 PM »

Quote
What region are you located?
Australia
Quote
Was the router working before any firmware updates?
I updated the same day I installed it. So don't know.
Quote
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
NBN, using an ethernet cable to the DIR-2680 WAN then PPPOE with username/password, DSL like connection.
Quote
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
No idea, but if I plug my old router I can ping fine, so it must be the router blocking the ping.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2020, 04:02:32 PM »

I would get online with your regional D-Link chat support and ask about this...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2510
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2020, 05:52:01 AM »

The router is not connected to the Internet. Reboot the modem.

Is the router pulling an IP address from your ISP?
Logged

et3rnal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2020, 08:42:21 AM »

I would get online with your regional D-Link chat support and ask about this...

I tried a couple of time on the phone but keeps me on hold for ever!
Logged

et3rnal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2020, 08:54:23 AM »

The router is not connected to the Internet. Reboot the modem.

Is the router pulling an IP address from your ISP?

It is connected I can browse the internet just fine. It is just not stable, cannot ping! disconnect wifi devices, the log issues others having. It is only usable while the McAfe turned off, if I activate it it becomes useless.

It just got me discounected while typing this! and I have restart it about 10 minutes ago!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot ping anything outside the router!
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2020, 08:04:09 PM »

Any progress on this?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!