• July 10, 2020, 05:20:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem  (Read 684 times)

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« on: April 29, 2020, 06:38:40 PM »

I just purchased the COVR 2202-2 and I'm stuck.

After failing to get the D-link to work, I reinstalled my aging Apple Airport and all works fine.

But when I attach my new COVR unit to the cable modem (both with the same Ethernet cable that works for the Airport and with the bundled D-link cable), I get stuck at the point where the unit is flashing orange and apparently can't find an Internet connection.

I've gone through my desktop computer Web browser to troubleshoot (via ethernet), but I complete that process and still no luck.

What am I missing?

Thanks for any help.
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1478
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2020, 09:54:07 PM »

Make sure you remove power from the cable modem when attaching a new router.  The modem needs to get the MAC address from the new router and will only do that with a power cycle. Power off both units then power on cable modem and let it boot up.  Then turn on router.
Logged

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2020, 04:31:20 AM »

Excellent! I'll give that a try later this morning. Thanks for the help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2020, 06:00:30 AM »

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

I just purchased the COVR 2202-2 and I'm stuck.

After failing to get the D-link to work, I reinstalled my aging Apple Airport and all works fine.

But when I attach my new COVR unit to the cable modem (both with the same Ethernet cable that works for the Airport and with the bundled D-link cable), I get stuck at the point where the unit is flashing orange and apparently can't find an Internet connection.

I've gone through my desktop computer Web browser to troubleshoot (via ethernet), but I complete that process and still no luck.

What am I missing?

Thanks for any help.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2020, 06:09:14 AM »

Dlink firmware = 1.02
I'm in NYC
My ISP is Time Warner Cable /  Earthlink
The modem is a Netgear CM700 Cable Modem
It's attached right now to my old Airport wifi router, which is giving me 68.3 Mbps over wifi to my iMac desktop.

I tried every permutation with the Drink this morning: fully booted the modem then attached the covr, booted the covr then the modem, etc. I ran the setup each time.
Nothing got the covr to stop the orange blinking.

I'm stymied.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2020, 07:37:57 AM »

Did you try swapping out the LAN cable between the Modem and A Point?
Powering OFF the modem first for 1 minute then back ON then power ON the A Point should work.
However you are walking thru the D-Link app setup initially to get the A point connected and configured first right? You have to walk thru the app first thing out of the box before the A Point will get connected.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2020, 07:41:23 AM »

I did swap out the ethernet cable for two others, each of which works fine with the Airport router.

(I also tried the non-A Covr to see if that one would work. No go. Are the two units different?)

(Also, is there a difference between the two ethernet ports on the COVR?)

I'll try your other suggestions later today -- right now my family is using our Airport wifi for school and business!

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2020, 07:49:33 AM »

Yes, even though kind of hard to see, the ports are marked 1 and 2. Port 1 is the WAN port to connect to the ISP modem. Port 2 is the LAN port to connect to a PC or a Gb LAN switch.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2020, 07:53:48 AM »

Got it. I've been using 1 to connect to the modem, assuming that was the rule, so I got that right.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2020, 08:01:23 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2020, 06:42:07 AM »

Success!

I knew what I had to do: I updated the firmware on the A unit from 1.02 to 1.04, then used Ethernet to reset it to factory settings. Then this morning (when the whole family was offline), I unplugged the old Apple router and started the installation process from scratch, carefully following the instructions to a T. Voila!

The second unit two floors away is also up and running with very fast throughput according to the speed test.

Terrific!

Thanks for your help!

One more random question, which I can't find the answer to anywhere else. Is there a difference between the A unit and the second unit? Or are they interchangeable?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2020, 11:35:43 AM »

Not sure if B points can operate and A points or not. I know there was a process, last resort, that the 1203 series can interchange some. Not sure about the 2202 though.

Glad you got it working. Be sure to make a backup configuration to file for safe keeping.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

joeholmes

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2020, 12:33:55 PM »

Thanks for the tip --  saved the settings!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2020, 12:36:54 PM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2503
Re: New COVR 2202 and Can't Get Internet from my Cable Modem
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2020, 12:41:38 PM »

One more random question, which I can't find the answer to anywhere else. Is there a difference between the A unit and the second unit? Or are they interchangeable?

Theoretically they are interchangeable BUT due to make it easier for customers the "A" unit is in router mode by default (so when you reset it, it goes to router mode) with the other points are not.

The COVR-C1203 is the same way.

With the latest firmware on both, you can now use both products to one A unit and all the other points can be used via WiFi and/or Ethernet all meshed together, also can be daisy chained as long as they all find a way back to the A unit to manage...if that makes sense.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2