• October 28, 2020, 01:24:36 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR 850L import saved settings from previous firmware version  (Read 829 times)

rashnk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

My Device is DIR 850L firmware et-1.02 was upgraded to DIR850LB1_FW220WWb03 successfully, after upgrade the configuration were also reset, I had a backup of saved settings file config.DAT from my previous version, which i tried to import to the new version, but the import failed the old format no longer supported in new version. So, now im not able to connect to internet, my provider is local cable network provider, I have a screenshot of old settings,
Can someone help me how to add the settings in new version.  Thank you

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR 850L import saved settings from previous firmware version
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2020, 11:36:52 AM »

Did you apply Rev B FW on a Rev A router?
Last version for Rev A router is here is is for only Rev A routers:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74271.0
Rev B FW should not be applied to Rev A routers.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rashnk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR 850L import saved settings from previous firmware version
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2020, 09:53:32 AM »

its B1

H/W Ver .: B1
F/W Ver.: ET-1.02 is written on the router
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR 850L import saved settings from previous firmware version
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2020, 10:35:11 AM »

Is this a ISP provided router or did you buy this retail?

You'll need to setup the Rev B router from scratch. You can't import settings from a Rev A model router.

  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!