• January 20, 2021, 08:42:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS  (Read 1425 times)

gustavrsh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« on: March 19, 2020, 02:33:29 PM »

Hello again;

When using the Discord standalone app, some time after joining a voice channel, the incoming connection drops. My friends can hear me, but I can't hear them. There's no warning or indication from Discord that something is wrong.

This issue was reported several times on the Discord reddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/comments/7mxsik/discord_sound_cuts_out_they_can_hear_me_i_cannot/
https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/comments/7rflib/audio_cuts_out_voice_works/
https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/comments/7x2uht/discord_audio_issue_after_changing_internet_modem/
https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/comments/7rfllf/audio_output_randomly_dropping/

It seems to be related to how the router handles packets. On the last link there is a supposed fix: enabling QoL. I did that and it did solve my problem. Still it isn't the ideal solution since this problem could happen with other applications and QoL shouldn't be necessary for fixing this.

I'll disable QoS and try to reproduce the problem once again, this time observing the debug feature on Discord.

FW version is 1.20
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2020, 03:07:22 PM »

What version of FW is currently loaded?
This happen on different devices with this app?

Let us know if QoS disable changes any thing...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ionismurf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2020, 06:36:42 AM »

hello,

do you guys managed to fix this issue?

i'm using FW 1.20, without any devices in QoS.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2020, 10:48:31 AM »

Have you tried v1.30?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=75413.msg305873#msg305873

hello,

do you guys managed to fix this issue?

i'm using FW 1.20, without any devices in QoS.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ionismurf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2020, 05:08:24 AM »

Yes, I'm running the beta.

Without QoS enabled, I still have drops in discord.

With QoS enabled, I don't have any problems with discord but QoS limits the bandwidth for each device in a bad way and it doesn't matter if the device is highest, high or medium priority.

 As a workaround, I enable QoS whenever I need to use discord.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49459
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Discord dropping incoming connection without QoS
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2020, 08:53:31 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that chat/phone contact has better immediate results over using email.

Yes, I'm running the beta.

Without QoS enabled, I still have drops in discord.

With QoS enabled, I don't have any problems with discord but QoS limits the bandwidth for each device in a bad way and it doesn't matter if the device is highest, high or medium priority.

 As a workaround, I enable QoS whenever I need to use discord.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.