• October 25, 2020, 03:57:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?  (Read 2673 times)

eelpout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16

title says it all. one of my 2200 access points is emitting a guest network, the other 2 units aren't and I don't want them to. Kinda strange.

Unfortunately, when the main "A" unit is in "bridge" mode, which mine is, there is no way to toggle the guest network, it's missing from the GUI. do I have to put it back in "router" mode to fix it? I guess I can try factory resetting that point and re-syncing, but sadly I'm kind of finding having to hook these guys up together by a cable each time to do this a little clunky (I know, I'm whining ;)).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2019, 12:51:57 PM »

Try enabling guest network on the A point router and let the system reboot. Then go back in and disable it. I saw this last nite while working with the B point.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2019, 02:01:53 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

eelpout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2019, 01:47:09 PM »

Try enabling guest network on the RBR and let the system reboot. Then go back in and disable it. I saw this last nite while working with the B point.

by "RBR" do you mean the main "A" Covr? If so, I'll have to set it back to being a "router" from a "bridge" to do so (one of my complaints about the software :().
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2019, 02:03:33 PM »

Typo there. Sorry about that. Yes A point.

Ya when in Bridge mode, Is presume guest work is not available. SO not sure if going back to router mode, enabling Guest network, disabling it again then going back to Bridge mode will work.  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

K4130

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2020, 06:54:05 AM »

I'm using one "A" point and 3 Satellites, one of them connected by LAN to "A". And that one sends the unprotected Guest-WiFi, and only if conected by LAN. If i exchange them, same picture. It seems that the Guest-Wifi toggle is not stored as a setting in the nodes, but only transmitted via mesh signal. When using ethernet backhaul, the node does not get that signal and uses factory setting.
This security issue must be fixed. The best would be to get access to each node to make this setting, be able to switch of LED, etc.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2020, 08:16:30 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

I have mentioned this as well about Guest Network being un-secured:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=75110.msg304739#msg304739
I have forwarded this to D-Link.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

I'm using one "A" point and 3 Satellites, one of them connected by LAN to "A". And that one sends the unprotected Guest-WiFi, and only if conected by LAN. If i exchange them, same picture. It seems that the Guest-Wifi toggle is not stored as a setting in the nodes, but only transmitted via mesh signal. When using ethernet backhaul, the node does not get that signal and uses factory setting.
This security issue must be fixed. The best would be to get access to each node to make this setting, be able to switch of LED, etc.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2020, 01:11:32 AM »

I had opened a case with the DLINK EMEA support for this exact issue on Apr14, which I had to close, at least momentarily, since all DLINK support members are all currently working from home and have no way to test all systems.

As I understood they are not aware of the issue.

I am using the last firmware, 1.04.

Like everyone, I am a bit worried to see what guest network being active, and I am waiting this issue being resolved to purchase 2 additional COVR to complete my setup.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2020, 06:08:13 AM »

Thanks for letting us know. I encourage you to re-open a case with D-Link in your region.
This is a known issue and needs to be fixed for this model router series.

I had opened a case with the DLINK EMEA support for this exact issue on Apr14, which I had to close, at least momentarily, since all DLINK support members are all currently working from home and have no way to test all systems.

As I understood they are not aware of the issue.

I am using the last firmware, 1.04.

Like everyone, I am a bit worried to see what guest network being active, and I am waiting this issue being resolved to purchase 2 additional COVR to complete my setup.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2020, 03:55:55 PM »

Well, online with chat support and of course, when the problem is supposed to appear, it doesn't. I had the 2202 A point online in router mode and using Mac Safari browser. The Guest Network is working and can be disabled. I ran thru the bridge mode configuration to check to see if it appeared there and it doesn't. I factory reset the A point and setup from scratch. After it was setup, I used Mac and Safari browser to enable the Guest Zone and set a password. It came online and was seen on my phone and pad. I disabled it and the Guest Zone disappeared. I could have sworn this wasn't working last time I had the 2202 online. Crazy me I guess.

So users in this thread, please re-check your system, ensure your using the latest FW version, clear browser caches and factory reset your A Point and setup from scratch. Then use a browser, any should work. Guest Zone should not be enabled after setting up the A point. I didn't setup the B point. I wanted to ensure the A point was working correctly.

Please let us now if this corrects the guest network being seen when it shouldn't be...

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2020, 08:33:37 AM »

Indeed, explicitly enabling/disabling the wifi guest, from the 'router' configuration, made the trick for me.

Long story, I reverted back to 'router' mode using the iOS application, played a bit around in the menu using both the iOS app and the console.  Since I was not 100% sure that both the nodes A+B were properly reconfigured while doing, I properly put the node A behind my main router, disconnected the wire from the node B, then made another factory reset from the console. Doing so I noticed that a dlink-guest was still being broadcasted, so something was probably not yet properly defined.
So from a clean 'router' configuration, from the console, I enabled the dlink guest wifi, gave it another name, checked it was there, that I could login from another device, then I disabled it from the console.
Then I changed the configuration back to 'Bridge', also power off/on the node B.
Then I could not see anymore the dlink guest broadcasted the node B.
Cant be sure this is the root cause, but it seems to work so far.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2020, 08:39:11 AM by plabrevo »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2020, 09:43:01 AM »

Ya, after I factory reset the A point, I didn't see guest network being broadcast.

Possible that you may have not been aware that after you changed to bridge mode that guest network may have been enabled by accident or by some odd behavior, then while in bridge mode the B Point picked it up.

Not sure if Guest Network is supported in AP mode since that feature needs to be tied to the WAN port in router mode. IN AP mode, WAN side gets disabled thus the main and guest network would be on the same network.  ???

No if D-Link can fix the DNS issue I'm seeing I can run the 2202 has my main router and fully use it.

Would be nice to see LAN vs Wireless status on Ethernet connected B points though.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2020, 04:41:15 AM »


Damn, that may not be that easy...

I noticed that the dlink-guest was again broadcasting this morning.  I could connect to it and check that it was fully functional. :(

So I turned off and on the Access Point and I dont see it anymore, for now.

I had wondered if this may have anything to do with the Ethernet cabling. I have one cable that goes to a switch attached to my router, and the other one that connect to a PowerLine adapter, but I am not able to reproduce trying a few permutation with or without.

The problem is that if that guest wifi restart after a while, between a few minutes to a few hours after, it will be difficult to isolate a testcase without looking at the code.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2020, 05:59:17 AM »

Ya mode is your A Point in currently? I might be able to help out with this. I can run mine either in router as a 2ndary router or AP mode and see if this happens...Let me know.
Would be one reason why I couldn't reproduce, if it did work initially. I didn't leave my A point enabled long enough. I put it back in the box to wait for the DNS Relay fix.


Damn, that may not be that easy...

I noticed that the dlink-guest was again broadcasting this morning.  I could connect to it and check that it was fully functional. :(

So I turned off and on the Access Point and I dont see it anymore, for now.

I had wondered if this may have anything to do with the Ethernet cabling. I have one cable that goes to a switch attached to my router, and the other one that connect to a PowerLine adapter, but I am not able to reproduce trying a few permutation with or without.

The problem is that if that guest wifi restart after a while, between a few minutes to a few hours after, it will be difficult to isolate a testcase without looking at the code.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2020, 09:11:58 AM »

Ok, I set up my A point as a 2ndary router behind a primary.
I enabled guest network to see if it it appeared. It did.
Disabled guest network to see if it disappeared. It did.
I'll let it run and check on it later on and tomorrow and the weekend.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

plabrevo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: can't get rid of "dlink-guest" network on one Point. how to fix?
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2020, 10:13:19 AM »

Right I am having the same setup, with a backhaul.

So far, after having run for 8 hours, the guest did not came back yet.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3