• September 25, 2020, 10:37:51 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?  (Read 883 times)

scuulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« on: November 17, 2019, 06:21:07 AM »

Hiya all.

I'm pretty much a computer newbie, and very much so regarding NAS and network stuff. Still, I usually get stuff to work but now I am facing trouble!

I recently got my hands on a 320L, which is already proving to be great with a lot of great features - I love it!

One big problem though... Every time I turn it on my internet becomes slow and unstable and I get a lot of "Timeout Errors". Every time. Every time I turn the NAS on I have these problems. Then when I turn it OFF my Internet is working fine again, but the very minute I turn the NAS ON my internet becomes slow and I get a TON og Timeout Errors. It's the same whether I use Internet Exploter, Opera, Firefox, Pale Moon and Chrome. But the problem only occurs when the NAS is ON.

I have no problems transferring files back and fourth between my computer and the NAS and I have been downloading stuff to the NAS via Transmission with no problems whatsoever. Really, it is only my Computer and it's internet that have problems WHENEVER I turn the NAS ON!? The NAS seems to be grinding on fine whatever, whenever, but my computers access to the internet is severely hurting when the NAS is ON.

What could the problem be?

I am using Windows 7 and the OPERA browser, but the problems persists with other browsers. What could it be? What could I try and do to solve this?

I have a router with connects to the NAS and my Computer but the problems only regards my Computers access to the Internet- the NAS is doing fine and is working FINE with my computer??

Hope you all can help me.

English is not my first language, so please excuse me any faults.

- scuulio
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2019, 07:20:05 AM »

    Link>
Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
Is the DNS getting a Dynamic IP address from the main host router? I recommend using a Static IP address ON the DNS set to 192.168.#.34 or .40.
Swap out LAN cables. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2019, 08:02:11 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

scuulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2019, 08:39:49 AM »

Hi,

Thank you for your reply.

- Hardware version is A3
- Firmware is 1.11
- Europe

The Router is a TP-Link TL-WR740N.

Yes I do have it as a DHCP Client - will try a static address within the range you have mentioned.

Again, many thanks. Hope I can get this solved - apart from this it's a great little box!
Logged

scuulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2019, 09:05:47 AM »

It's early after the change from dynamic to static IP, but so far the problem unfortunately persists.

One thing, I have now seen though, is that when I disable the Add-On Transmission -which is not downloading, but seeding - I only get very, very few Timeouts, and so far only when I really push it, by opening many tabs in my browser. Internet still becomes slow when NAS is on, but maybe the reason for all the Timeouts could be the Add-On Transmission?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2019, 10:39:17 AM »

What happens if you remove the add-on from the DNS and reboot the DNS and try again?

Another reason could be that the LAN ports on your router are becoming max'd out as well. Your router only supports 100Mbps while the DNS supports 1000Mbps. Which the router could be causing a bottle neck and some performance problems. You may want to get into a router that supports 1000Mbps on the LAN side or you could get a 1000Mbps LAN switch and connect it to between the DNS and your PC. Connecting the DNS and PC to this switch.

Is your PC's networking adapter 1000Mbps supportive?

« Last Edit: November 18, 2019, 10:53:05 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

scuulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2019, 07:36:19 AM »

Should I try deleting Transmission? It is evident that whenever I enable it I have these Timeouts, which disappears when I disable it. Internet slows down when the NAS is ON, but I almost only have the Timeouts when Transmission is Enabled and is Seeding.

My internetsetup is as follows - excuse me if I don't have the right english words - From the ISP Fibre box I have a cable to the ROUTER, and from here to a) NAS b) a SWITCH "D-LINK GO-SW-5E", which is only 100 M/Bit also and from this to the PC.

My PC have a network card (netowrking adapter?) which is NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps. So I believe all of my stuff - apart from the NAS only supports 100 Mbps.

I am sorry I'm not a 100% sure about my setup - adapter and stuff - and sorry if my english is making my descriptions hard to understand. Your support is highly appreciated!

Do you think it is because my equipment is only 100Mbps that I have these bottlenecks? My Internet is Fibre 10/10 M/bit.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2019, 08:23:04 AM »

Remove the Transmission add-on completely from the DNS and see if the timeouts still happen.

I would recommend that you upgrade your Switches and PC network adapter to 1000Mbps supporting so you can take better advantage of faster performances with 1000Mbps support throughout your network system. Its hard to tell at the moment of the add-on would be effecting networking performances if you had a system on 1000Mbps. Upgrading to 1000Mbps is fairly inexpensive.

For now, remove the add-on and see.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1477
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2019, 12:55:56 PM »

From the description it sounds like there is a port conflict between the transmission add on and the router - the fact the router is slow doesn't help.

What port did you setup transmission to use?
Did you enable port forwarding?
Are the ports open in the router?

Answers to those questions might lead to an answer to the problem.
Logged

scuulio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Network timeout whenever NAS is ON!?
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2019, 04:48:28 PM »

When I remove Transmission completely from the DNS I don't get any timeouts, same as when I just diasable Transmission. No timeouts when it's disabled or deleted.

Even with Transmission deleted my internet still slows down when the DNS is ON - Does this come down to my slow - and old - hardware? My Internet speed is 10/10 Mbit.

I've been deleting and re-installing Transmission a couple of times and about the port-forwarding I am having trouble - came to remember I had these problems back when I installed it the very first time.

I get downloading and seeding but in the Transmission settings where you can test whether the port is open it always says it is closed. I've tried forwarding both manually and automatically via various ports and it always says it is closed. I have found numerous posts from different places talking about this problem and it seems many others are having this exact same problem with opening the port. Again is DOES download and seed but is says the port is CLOSED.
Logged