• July 07, 2020, 10:46:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: stuck on version 1.0.2  (Read 963 times)

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
stuck on version 1.0.2
« on: September 25, 2019, 11:37:02 AM »

Hi
i just bought a DIR-882 and every where i look online the gui is different from mine.
when i look at my firmware version it says 1.0.2 which i cannot find under the download section of my router.
i would like to have the same interface that i see on the forum and also be able to setup a vpn

if it helps this is my gui
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2499
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2019, 12:37:51 PM »

What country are you in/did you buy this router from?

Once you log in can you type http://dlinkrouter.local./version.txt and tell me the exact firmware version.
Logged

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2019, 12:42:35 PM »

the url you linked giving me a  404

i live in israel and bought the router here in israel
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2499
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2019, 12:47:00 PM »

I have never seen that interface. 

Try the LAN IP address of the router (the IP you use to log into it with version.txt) - 192.168.0.1/version.txt
Logged

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2019, 12:49:20 PM »

same 404
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48945
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 12:56:13 PM »

Is this a retail bought router or something you got from an ISP?
This UI is not the same as we see here in the USA as seen here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59563.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2019, 12:57:28 PM »

retail one from the store
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48945
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2019, 12:58:53 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. Each region of D-Link does things differently and maybe handling your region differently from others.  I would talk to someone there first to find out.

Link> Tech Support Contact Information
We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2019, 01:02:16 PM »

will do
i also tried upgrading it by downloading the 1.2 bin from d link site but the router just keep saying its corrupted or some thing
Thank you very much
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48945
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2019, 01:07:45 PM »

I believe the FW is different from here in the USA.

Please make contact with your regional D-Link office and check on this. Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2019, 10:59:10 AM »

well no luck
they send me a bin file that i used to update it did update my router to 1.0.3 but the interface is the same and i cannot find a way to enable vpn.
i would love to ditch that interface so i can get rid of a lot of stuff like the yandex dns that i do not need

i also found the specs of my router in the regional site
http://www.dlink.co.il/il/products/5/2239_b.html
« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 11:02:46 AM by Orhay »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48945
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2019, 11:31:02 AM »

Is VPN something they support on this router? Something to talk to them about.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Orhay

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2019, 11:32:36 AM »

well under the specs it does say VPN

VPN
IPsec/PPTP/L2TP/PPPoE pass-through
IPsec tunnels
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48945
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2019, 11:40:46 AM »

I would talk to the regional support office to see if they can help you with VPN. Maybe just a configuration with the router to make it work.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

me_iauras

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: stuck on version 1.0.2
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2019, 12:02:06 PM »

It seems that this earlier possibly client specific version of the firmware does have some additional features not present in the global firmware version :
  • ability to use a GSM/3G/4G modem to connect to the internet
  • embeded torrent client Transmission
  • console access via telnet
  • TR069 remote management (makes me think it's an ISP specific firmware, my guess would be russian /CSI ISP since Yandex is included ,  since this protocol is used for the purpose of ISP remote management of client's devices )

If it is indeed the A1 hardware revision of the hardware you should be able to brute force (at your own risc of course) the firmware upgrade by going into the recovery boot-loader and uploading the .bin file from there or going through a DDWRT firmware and back to official DLink firmware if the first option doesn't work (you'll find instructions threads on both options in this forum).
Logged
Pages: [1] 2