• August 12, 2020, 08:45:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork  (Read 2469 times)

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« on: September 12, 2019, 07:19:37 AM »

Hi,

Apologies if this topic is in the wrong place. There are a lot of categories :-)

I'm trying to access the admin interface of my DLINK DIR 819. dlinkrouter.local does not resolve, and due to my setup, it does not have 192.168.0.1 for an IP.

In my scenario, my internet comes into our house and goes to another wifi router first. From there, I have a CAT6 cable that runs from one of the home router's lan ports to my DLINK DIR-819 in my shop. I have a cable from one of the lan ports on my DLINK to my desktop mac. Initially I had reset the DLINK to factory defaults, plugged everything in and powered it up and everything works. The wired connection at the end of the chain works. Both routers are distributing wifi networks. I was able to login to the DLINK wifi using the password set on the first router's wifi network. I'm not sure how that worked (though at one time the DLINK was configured as a wifi repeater for the first router, so perhaps I didn't successfully reset to default.).

In any case, even though everything seems to be working, I'd really like to access the admin of the DLINK to be sure of what is going on, and possible set distinct passwords for it's wifi... really just to have a look and be sure I am somewhat secure. I can scan my network and see the IP address of it, but it is not responding to a browser request by that IP either.

Any suggestions?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 07:46:52 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What is the DIR router using for an IP address if not .0.1?
Access to the web page should be able to access what the PC is seeing as the Gateway IP address.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2019, 08:19:06 AM »

- Hardware version is A1
- Firmware was updated about a month ago.
- I'm in Northern Ontario, Canada
- IP address is 192.168.209.44 (DHCP assigned from first router)

Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2510
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2019, 08:30:11 AM »

What port is the cable from your WiFi router connected to the dlink router?

Did you change the LAN IP address of the D-Link router? 
Logged

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2019, 08:50:39 AM »

Thanks.

I'm not sure how to determine the port number. (ping and arp do not expose it, the IP Scanner app I am using says 53 (domain), 80 and 443 are open on the initial router). The initial router is a Netgear. It is assigning IP addresses to all connected devices. I have not manually assigned or changed any assignments). Physically, my ISP's LTE modem comes into the Netgear router's Internet port. There is a CAT6 cable running from LAN port #1 of the Netgear router to the Internet port of the DLINK router. There is a ethernet cable running from LAN port #1 of the DLINK to my desktop mac. Both routers are broadcasting Wifi. The two routers are separate buildings about 250' apart.

:-)
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2510
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2019, 09:17:34 AM »

I meant physical port - Internet or LAN.

What is the LAN IP address of the D-Link router? I assume 192.168.0.1? Clients connected to the dlink should pull a 192.168.0.xxx IP address. Using http://192.168.0.1 should bring up the dlink web UI. If not, make sure your computer is on 192.168.0.xxx subnet.

You will be on 2 separate subnets, one created by your netgear and the other my dlink. They cannot be on the same subnet so if any client is connected to the netgear (ie WIFI), it cannot and will not connect to the LAN side of the D-Link router.
Logged

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2019, 09:51:13 AM »

I'm not positive of what the LAN IP address of the DLINK router is.

My desktop mac (which is what I'm testing from) is connected to the DLINK with an ethernet cable to one of it's LAN ports and Wifi is completely shut off. My mac has an IP address of 192.168.209.73 and reports that 192.168.209.1 is my router.

If I go to 192.168.209.1 in a browser, I get a login screen for something from my ISP, maybe the modem. I don't know. I don't recognize it.

My network IP scanning tool (screenshot above) reports that 192.168.0.1 is localhost with an unknown MAC address. It does not respond to a browser request.

When I check Attached Devices in my Netgear admin page, it shows the following, which is a little confusing as it shows my iMac connected over wifi, which it is definitely not.



Both reports say that the IP for the DLINK router is 192.168.209.44 which also does not respond to a browser.

Ultimately, at the end of the day, everything is working. I'm just not sure why, and I'd sure like to be able to access the config for the DLINK  ;-)

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2019, 12:25:38 PM »

Look at the DIR router Status page. Here it will give you the MAC address for the LAN side and wireless. Compare MAC addresses with what you see.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2019, 12:34:37 PM »

Look at the DIR router Status page. Here it will give you the MAC address for the LAN side and wireless. Compare MAC addresses with what you see.
That's the issue though... I can't find a way/IP to access that. :-)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2019, 03:35:05 PM »

Even if you have a wired PC or mobile laptop connected to the 2nd DIR router?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2019, 04:09:11 PM »

I sure can't with a wired pc. I'll try wireless tonight or tomorrow when I get back down there. I appreciate your perseverance :-)
Logged

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2019, 11:13:18 AM »

So, I have verified that I cannot find a way to connect to the the 2nd DIR router, either wired or wireless, from anywhere in the network. Just for clarity, I've added an illustration of the network, with a few details. Is it possible that the D-Link is acting like a configure-less access point? When I set this up, I first did a factory reset of the D-Link, plugged everything in and powered it up. I was immediately able to connect to the wifi from the d-link using the password I had previously configured in the NetGear. Apologies for my ignorance on these topics. All IPs assigned by either device, wired or wireless, seem to be in the same 192.168.209.xxx range.

If this was an auto-magical configuration... cool! I'm still a little unsure why I can't (or even if I should be able to) bring up an admin interface for the D-Link.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49059
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2019, 11:20:14 AM »

Which port on the DIR router are you using to connect to the NG router? WAN or LAN?

I would do this, factory reset the DIR, leave the DIR router disconnected from the NG router. Use default settings and going in and check for the MAC address for the LAN and WAN side if you need.

I recommend that since you have main host router already, configure the DIR router as a LAN to LAN AP:
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

verdonv

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2019, 11:25:06 AM »

Which port on the DIR router are you using to connect to the NG router? WAN or LAN?
Line comes out from LAN of NG router in to WAN of DIR router. I'll read the provided link (thank you). It does all seem to be working, I just want to be sure I am secure and following best practice.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2510
Re: Accessing Router Admin when in local subnetwork
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2019, 11:43:19 AM »

Both routers are giving out IP address? Also the D-Link router should not be working if the WAN port and the LAN side are on the same subnet. That should not work unless the router is in AP mode, but not sure if that option is available.

Check the default gateway IP address on your computer. That should be the IP address of the D-Link router IF it is pulling the IP settings from it. If it brings up the NG router, you are getting the IP from the NG router and the D-Link router is somehow passing the information through.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2