• August 06, 2020, 08:40:02 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: router not support ip fragments PS4  (Read 810 times)

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
router not support ip fragments PS4
« on: December 19, 2019, 07:52:00 AM »

Hi
I set static ip address & corrected the MTU to 1492 (manually in the router and through CMD)
but when I run speedtest in ps4 this message appear :
" your router may not support ip fragments..."

I am using wired connection, ps4 QoS highest priority,
all the ports for ps4 and fifa20 forwarded
Upnp enabled, DMZ on

router firmware is 1.2
rested from scratch
I live in kingdom of Saudi Arabia

this issue happened in nat type 2 only, If I used nat type 1 and mtu 1492 it does not show this error

I had the exact same settings in DIR 822 and it was working fine with no such errors !!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 11:18:55 AM »

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the router is connected too?

A static IP address should not be used on the PS. Set up a IP address Reservation ON the router for the PS.
If your ISP is cable then MTU should be 1500. If your DSL or using PPPoE DSL, contact your ISP to check to see what MTU Value is needed to be set on the router. IF thats needed.

If you enabled PF confifurations, disable uPnP. uPnP should be all thats needed for any game console. However if the modem has a built in router already, we need to start at the modem first.

Disable DMZ on the DIR router.

You'll not ever see NAT type 1 with a external router behind a ISP modem on the PS. NAT Type 2 will be all that you see.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 12:20:52 PM »

-Al catel g240wb

-I did reserve ip to ps in the router
- my ISP router MTU is 1500 BUT dir 882 not accepting values more than 1492 ! IDK why

- Is there any FW of dir882 has "auto" option for MTU ?

- I do have nat type 1 in ps4 but It is not making any difference in FIFA only
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2019, 12:45:50 PM »

Well your ISP ONT already has built in router and wifi from what I can tell.

The ONT would need to be bridged or if it can't be bridged, then use the ONTs DMZ for the IP address the DIR router get from the ONT. Or use the DIR in LAN to LAN bridge mode.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2019, 01:43:52 PM »

I did it already as a bridge to DIR
no such an issue in 822 before

no way I can make mtu in DIR 1500 or set it to auto ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2019, 02:05:42 PM »

Try a factory rest on the 882 and setup from scratch. Don't change the MTU value on the DIR. IT should set to 1500...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2019, 12:47:46 AM »

I did factory reset, no change
the DIR still show 1492 and not accepting any values above
Logged

me_iauras

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2019, 05:22:35 AM »

If your connection is of PPPoE type it's normal that the maximum MTU is 1492 ; for DHCP/STATIC IP it should be 1500 ; for VPN type conections L2TP/PPTP it's 1400 . Since you've mentioned that you have your ISP's equipment ( I expect an ONT fiber terminal ) in bridge mode and you're doing the PPPoE dial-up session on the DLink router it's perfectly normal to have a max of 1492 MTU value
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2019, 10:11:59 AM »

You can also set the ISP modem/ONT back to router mode and use the ISPs DMZ/IP-passthru feature for the DIR. MTU value should be 1500 on the DIR at this point, However the ISP modem would be at 1492 since it's handling ISP services in router mode and not bridged.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2019, 12:37:50 AM »

If your connection is of PPPoE type it's normal that the maximum MTU is 1492 ; for DHCP/STATIC IP it should be 1500 ; for VPN type conections L2TP/PPTP it's 1400 . Since you've mentioned that you have your ISP's equipment ( I expect an ONT fiber terminal ) in bridge mode and you're doing the PPPoE dial-up session on the DLink router it's perfectly normal to have a max of 1492 MTU value

- but why in dir822 same settings but was no issues ?
Logged

ayshanou

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2019, 01:36:07 AM »

You can also set the ISP modem/ONT back to router mode and use the ISPs DMZ/IP-passthru feature for the DIR. MTU value should be 1500 on the DIR at this point, However the ISP modem would be at 1492 since it's handling ISP services in router mode and not bridged.

I did it, did not work  :'(, no problem thank you

- May I ask about DD-WRT fw, what is the benefit of it ?
- dynamic dns ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49031
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: router not support ip fragments PS4
« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2019, 01:54:15 PM »

WRT has more features and more advanced user configurations available.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!