• September 23, 2020, 04:33:01 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!  (Read 682 times)

RichMawdsley

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!
« on: May 28, 2020, 06:59:34 AM »

Hey All,
Just picked this up to server as a cheap switch for a handful of my devices.  This switch it downstream from my router (Pfsense) and a Ubiquiti Switch.

I've 3 VLANS / Subnets;  10.0.0.0/24, 10.0.20.0/24, 10.0.40.0/24.
The Dlink Switch is on 10.0.0.0 and has all switch profiles assigned to it on the Ubiquiti Switch port it's plugged into.

I quite simply want to have the devices plugged into eth2/3/4 on the 10.0.20.0/24 network, and the remaining 4 on 10.0.40.0/24 network.

I can't figure out how to achieve this, I've setup the 802.11Q Vlan section and tagged eth2/3 etc with VID 20/40 but it's not working.  Reading around on here people talk about a "Vlan Interface" section in the GUI, I assume this must be on a higher model as it's missing from mine (1.00.B031 firmware).  Have I brought the wrong product?
Logged

RichMawdsley

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2020, 07:50:16 AM »

Ok think I made some progress.  Tagging all the ports with all VID's, but then specifying PVID to be the VLAN I want seems to be half working.. whatever the hell a PVID is!

Oddity now is my laptop gets the correct IP on eth2 VLAN 20 by DHCP, but my IPCam on the other end isnt..  hmm.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2020, 07:59:24 AM »

https://www.megajason.com/2018/04/30/what-is-pvid/

I recommend you review the user manual for the DGS switch and see if this has any VLAN help and information...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RichMawdsley

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2020, 01:21:13 AM »

Thanks Furry,

Everything I read seems to contradict the other.  I can't get this to work for some reason.  Would you or someone be able to suggest how the screen below should be setup?

Where desired scenario:
eth1 = Uplink to Ubiquiti switch.  10.0.0.0/24
eth2/3 = Clients plugged in get 10.0.20.0/24 address.

https://imgur.com/a/01MSwrb
Logged

RichMawdsley

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?!
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2020, 01:42:43 AM »

And then just like that, I think I've figured it out.  It's pretty much the reverse of how I was thinking it should work.

https://imgur.com/a/cG8XDsX

So to explain to myself in a way I'll understand when I google this in the future because I've forgotten..

Create all the VLANS you support as VID's
For the port you want to be on the specific VLAN, set this as Untagged, and specify the PVID to that VLAN.
On the Uplink port (back to main switch), TAG this VLAN.
VID 1 (the Uplink port) should be Untagged on all ports

Good luck future forgetful me!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 VLAN Config - How?! (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2020, 08:01:25 AM »

Glad you were able to figure it out 

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!