• December 06, 2019, 08:45:13 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 160MHz Check  (Read 1861 times)

Wolfmaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
160MHz Check
« on: January 18, 2019, 08:15:44 AM »

Hi all! I recently purchased this router. I'm replacing an ASUS DSL-AC68U (AC1900) since I no longe have a DSL connection. Also, I wanted to pair the DLINK with my Intel 9260 to profit the 160MHz bandwith to reach the 600Mbps of my connection. Well, I'm experiencing slower speed with the DLINK (about 100Mbps, ASUS was 280Mbps). IDK if I'm doing something wrong because I can't set anything manualy on the DLINK and I can't see if it's working with the 160MHz bandwith...

Help please!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 08:38:22 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?


Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?

Try single mode AC on 5Ghz?

  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA2-Personal.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
Some scanners will tell you the bandwidth being used.

« Last Edit: January 18, 2019, 08:43:36 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 09:08:35 AM »

Been told it's still in progress. Not date on arrival. DFS seems to be holding things up.  >:(
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

me_iauras

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 11:13:34 AM »

Hi all! I recently purchased this router. I'm replacing an ASUS DSL-AC68U (AC1900) since I no longe have a DSL connection. Also, I wanted to pair the DLINK with my Intel 9260 to profit the 160MHz bandwith to reach the 600Mbps of my connection. Well, I'm experiencing slower speed with the DLINK (about 100Mbps, ASUS was 280Mbps). IDK if I'm doing something wrong because I can't set anything manualy on the DLINK and I can't see if it's working with the 160MHz bandwith...

Help please!
Hi ,
The slower speed is almost surely due to the not so smart "Smart Connect" ; disable it in the wireless section of the menu an you'll be able to set up manually the parameters of the wireless network ( limited to 80 MHz channels ATM) .
I'm getting 400 Mb/s + Internet routed trafic and almost 500 Mb/s  Local LAN ( 60 MB/s off my NAS ) on my Intel  7260 AC card ( in the same room of course with AC only mode and Auto 80/40/20 MHz channels) and so should you be able to .
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2019, 12:00:45 PM »

160Mhz is now in v1.20 FW.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wonders81

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2019, 06:56:33 AM »

Is there a way to use the 160MHz channel width contiguously and not in the 80+80 way?
I have a computer with an Intel Wireless-AC 9560 chip and in the support article (https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000030670/network-and-i-o/wireless-networking.html) they say "The Intel® Wireless-AC 9260 and 9560 support only the contiguous 160 MHz channel width configuration. 2 separated non-contiguous 80 MHz (or 80 + 80 MHz) configuration isn't supported".
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2019, 10:42:10 AM »

Is the adapter seeing 160Mhz when it's set for 80+80?

I know my R7800 in wireless mode does when it's connected. Connection rate reports 1733Mpbs.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wonders81

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2019, 12:41:39 PM »

What do you mean "is the adapter seeing 160Mhz"? When I connect to the 5Ghz SSID (which has a separate name from the 2,4GHz SSID) the network adapter says it's connected at 866Mbps, which is the maximum width 80Mhz channel width. And the channel width on the client and on the router is set to auto.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2019, 12:48:12 PM »

What speed does the adapter connect at if you set manual 80+80Mhz? This has to be selected manually for 160Mhz to work on the 882.


What do you mean "is the adapter seeing 160Mhz"? When I connect to the 5Ghz SSID (which has a separate name from the 2,4GHz SSID) the network adapter says it's connected at 866Mbps, which is the maximum width 80Mhz channel width. And the channel width on the client and on the router is set to auto.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wonders81

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2019, 10:42:28 AM »

Sorry for the late answer. In the router, I cannot set the channel width to 80+80 Mhz, there's no option like this only 20, 40, 80, auto 20/40, auto 20/40/80 and auto 20/40/80/80+80. On the client with the Intel driver for 5GHz channel width there's two options: auto, 20MHz only.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 160MHz Check
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2019, 10:53:50 AM »

auto 20/40/80/80+80 is the selection you make to get 160Mhz running. You have to disable smart connect first. Then set auto 20/40/80/80+80,  save then re-enabled SC if you use SC.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting