• September 18, 2019, 02:41:00 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Is DNS-340L backwards compatible with 320L?  (Read 617 times)

MichaelMcG

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Is DNS-340L backwards compatible with 320L?
« on: April 13, 2019, 04:46:48 AM »

I have a 320L with 2x3tb drives in it. I've been offered a 340L at a decent price but I have no way to back up the disks from the 320L before transferring them to the 340L. Will disks formatted and used in the 320L work in the 340L without reformatting?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is DNS-340L backwards compatible with 320L?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2019, 08:17:38 AM »

I don't think so, the system is different and the configuration on the new DNS would not know of any prior drives. Thus the system has to be setup initially with new drives and formats them accordingly.

Find you a PC with large enough space or find a cheap USB drive to move your stuff onto.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

MichaelMcG

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is DNS-340L backwards compatible with 320L?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2019, 10:03:08 AM »

I had a feeling that would be the case. I was hoping that the Linux system would detect a Linux formatted disk and read the contents regardless of what machine they had been in originally. Naivety on my part.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1448
Re: Is DNS-340L backwards compatible with 320L?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2019, 02:20:54 PM »

Yes, a Linux system will detect a Linux formatted drive but the problem is that you are dealing with a software raid setup.  That means as well as the Linux file system there is also the raid array information incorporated into the format.

The simple answer is to get 2 more drives for the new box and use them for backing up the data on the old unit.  Read the manual to check how to have two raid arrays on the DNS 343.
Logged