• November 22, 2019, 06:46:26 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ  (Read 2287 times)

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« on: March 07, 2019, 01:15:43 PM »

Just got Frontier FIOS.  Can't attach my network drive to the supplied router.  So I need to use my 868L.  Would appreciate info on setting up the 868L, and what settings would need to be changed in the Arris unit.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2019, 02:03:06 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2019, 02:56:26 PM »

Sorry so long in getting back on this:

Hardware version: A1
Firmware version: 1.01
Located in Riverside CA (if that's what is meant by "region").

Will follow up on the 4th bullet this week.

Thanks very much.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2019, 07:17:19 AM »

FW is very OLD on your 868L. You might need to update FW as well.  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2019, 06:54:20 PM »

Firmware update:  Seems I've now made my situation worse.  Attempted to update firmware to v1.20B01.  Per instructions I uploaded _middle.bin file first.  The UI page counted down from about 135 seconds to zero and nothing happened after that.  I waited about 1/2 hour and now the router doesn't respond to 192.168.0.1.  Did I brick it?
« Last Edit: March 23, 2019, 10:16:44 PM by mtbdude »
Logged

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2019, 10:12:08 PM »

Regarding bridging, it can't be bridged.  So if I can get the router up and running again I'll do the DMZ method.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2019, 11:30:33 AM »

Try the emergency recovery process to get v1.20 loaded on it...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2019, 07:11:03 PM »

Emergency recovery worked.   ::)  After that was able to update the firmware using the ...middle.bin file.  That version is 1.13.  After that unable to update to 1.2.  From the emergency web the response was that the bin file wasn't a valid firmware file.  When I tried to update from within the UI the counter went from 135 seconds went to zero.  After 1/2 hour nothing else happened and router was again unresponsive.  Emergency procedure worked again, but only to upgrade to 1.13.  Repeated this several times.

If you have any ideas about this, would like to hear them.  Otherwise I'm going to go ahead with the DMZ procedure that you recommended.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2019, 06:59:31 AM »

I think you can apply v1.20 using the recovery method as well. From there you should be good. Use IE11 or FF browser.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2019, 09:50:56 AM »

I think you can apply v1.20 using the recovery method as well. From there you should be good. Use IE11 or FF browser.

Right, that's what I've been attempting; recovery method with IE11.  Interesting that ...middle.bin updates with no problem.  I've downloaded the zip file again and will give it another try later today.

Really appreciate your fast responses.

If I keep struggling with this thing much longer; i.e., can't get the latest firmware to update, I'm going to buy a new router.  Especially since this one is EOL.  Because of this forum - the most comprehensive I've seen for a product of any kind, I'm sticking with DLink.  Would appreciate suggestions for the latest-greatest for home application; features comparable to my 868L.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2019, 10:02:21 AM »

Im late to the party. What firmware version is currently on the router?

The middle file just puts an encryption layer on the firmware (not boot loader). Anything higher than 1.13 needs the middle to work (since the firmware is encrypted).

Since going from 1.01 to 1.20 is a big leap, in general you shouldn't have issues but you may want to emergency recover to 1.09 first to see if that works. After you do that apply the middle firmware file and then the 1.20 file. Recovering to the middle file may not work since it is not a complete firmware file.
Logged

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2019, 10:21:27 AM »

Im late to the party. What firmware version is currently on the router?

The middle file just puts an encryption layer on the firmware (not boot loader). Anything higher than 1.13 needs the middle to work (since the firmware is encrypted).

Since going from 1.01 to 1.20 is a big leap, in general you shouldn't have issues but you may want to emergency recover to 1.09 first to see if that works. After you do that apply the middle firmware file and then the 1.20 file. Recovering to the middle file may not work since it is not a complete firmware file.

Just re-downloaded the zip file.  Updated to 1.2 with no problem.  So it was a corrupted .bin file that was the problem.  Appreciate you jumping in tho'. 

Next adventure is attempting the DMZ procedure that Furry outlined.  I'll report back on the result.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2019, 10:36:11 AM »

Ah ok good. Glad it was an easy fix. Let us know if Furry's instructions worked.
Logged

mtbdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2019, 06:59:48 PM »

As I've mentioned, the modem can't be bridged.  These are the instructions Furry gave me on 3-7.  (Changed the paragraph to individual lines.) 

1.   If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option.
2.   input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modem’s DMZ
3.   Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem.
4.   check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1.
5.   Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem,
6.   if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.

I'm not quite understanding what would go where in the DMZ screen.  If there's a way to upload a snip of it I'd like you to see what I'm looking at.  Picture is worth 1,000 words.

Regarding the DHCP matter, the ISP modem IP is 195.168.254.254.  The DIR is 192.168.0.1.  So I assume no change would need to be made to these settings.  Is that correct?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2019, 07:01:56 PM by mtbdude »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Using DIR-868L for wifi with FIOS router - Arris NVG468MQ
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2019, 06:48:59 AM »

As I've mentioned, the modem can't be bridged.  These are the instructions Furry gave me on 3-7.  (Changed the paragraph to individual lines.) 

1.   If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option.
2.   input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modemís DMZ
3.   Disable ALL WiFi radios on the modem.
4.   check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1.
5.   Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem,
6.   if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.

I'm not quite understanding what would go where in the DMZ screen.  If there's a way to upload a snip of it I'd like you to see what I'm looking at.  Picture is worth 1,000 words.
Look at the WAN or Internet IP address on the 868L status screen to see what IP address it got from the modem. Use this IP address in the DMZ on the modem. I would do a IP address reservation ON the modem so that the IP address doesn't change for the 868L.

Regarding the DHCP matter, the ISP modem IP is 195.168.254.254.  The DIR is 192.168.0.1.  So I assume no change would need to be made to these settings.  Is that correct? Yes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2