• July 18, 2019, 06:14:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Unable to access my DLINK router remotely despite the link saying I can  (Read 838 times)

Hmm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

I have followed the instructions from the official website:

Quote
Step 1: Open a web browser and type the IP address of the DIR series router into the address bar (default is 192.168.0.1).
Step 2: The default username is admin (all lower case) and the default password is blank (nothing). Click OK.
Step 3: Click on the TOOLS tab and navigate down to the ADMINISTRATION section.
Step 4: Check the box to Enable Remote Management.
Step 5: Enter the desired port in the Remote Admin Port dialogue box. You can also leave the default port at 8080
Step 6: Click on Save Settings to save your settings.
Once the Settings have been saved. To access your router remotely, from a web browser enter: http://<your wanip>:8080
e.g. http://172.16.100.56:8080
You can find your WAN IP by clicking on the STATUS tab. It will be displayed under the WAN Section.
Accessing the router via browser by entering the ip address in this manner:  172.16.100.56:8080 works as long as I'm connected to the same network.

However, it doesn't work outside my network eg. at work or elsewhere outside my home. Is there another method of accessing the router?
« Last Edit: March 21, 2019, 02:53:46 PM by Hmm »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2111

Is the router connected to a modem/router? What model modem is it?

Is your WAN/Internet IP address a public IP (ie not 192.168.x.x, 10.x.x.x, or 172.16.x.x - 172.31.x.x)

From the remote location, can you ping the IP address? (start > type CMD > at prompt type ping 172.16.100.56 and see if you get reply from)

Logged

Hmm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

Hi, the router is the AC1200. I tried pinging and it's not reachable. It has a static ip address starting with 100. The connection is DSL so the wall connection goes directly into the DSL port of the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47568
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

  • What ISP Modem and main host router, Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hmm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

There is no modem. The RJ cable plugs directly into the wall.

What difference does it make what ISP I am using?
Logged

jephaestus47

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1

Knowing the model number and ISP is necessary for this one.

If remote management is on, you can just enter the Router's WAN IP address and remote management port number to access

Ex. 172.124.11.9:8080

Knowing the ISP is also to verify if you are getting an exact public WAN IP address necessary for remote management.

If you are getting a private IP address from the modem to your router, then it will not work.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2019, 04:34:48 PM by jephaestus47 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47568
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What ISP Modem and main host router, Mfr. and model # do you have?
What D-Link router model are you using?

There is no modem. The RJ cable plugs directly into the wall.

What difference does it make what ISP I am using?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hmm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

Knowing the model number and ISP is necessary for this one.

If remote management is on, you can just enter the Router's WAN IP address and remote management port number to access

Ex. 172.124.11.9:8080

Knowing the ISP is also to verify if you are getting an exact public WAN IP address necessary for remote management.

If you are getting a private IP address from the modem to your router, then it will not work.

The AC1200 D-Link router is at my mother in law's in Asia. She has no idea which ISP she's with. Her now deceased husband set things up for her years ago. When I was there a few months ago, everything was working fine.  When I returned back to the US, I realized I disabled SSID and I want to re-enable it. However, I can't do it even though when I was in Asia, I was able to access the router remotely (while on the same home network) within the home using these instructions:

Quote
The port number used to access the DIR-822 is used in the URL. Example:
http://x.x.x.x:8080 where x.x.x.x is the Internet IP address of the DIR822 and 8080 is the port used for the web management interface. If
you enable HTTPS Server, you must enter https:// as part of the URL to access the router remotely

My guess is maybe the static IP address is the issue.  AFAIK, that's not a "private" IP address any more than a dynamic IP address is. Then again, I only have cable internet and I have a modem/router combo. Additionally, I can't ping it or even do a tracert using the static IP address but I was able to when I was connected to the apartment network. The IP address I have is correct too.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2019, 12:11:12 AM by Hmm »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47568
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What model DIR router is it?

I would try to ensure the remote management is enabled on the router and need to verify that the router IS getting a public IP address and which port the remote management is listening on.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting