• July 10, 2020, 04:20:06 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: NAS not on Windows 10  (Read 523 times)

RevMatthew

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
NAS not on Windows 10
« on: January 23, 2020, 06:26:17 AM »

I apolgize if this is a redundant or over posted topic but I've been searching and have been a bit stymied.
I have a NAS DNS 320-L  For years it has been on our little P2P network as a back up for two windows 10 computers.  Not problems until recently it just disappeared off the network list.
I can access it via browser using the IP address. This was static, and I changed it to dynamic trying to run the setup to see if that helped.
the set up could not find the unit.
I can see the files in it via the browser interface and such but cannot access them.  I can change settings etc, but it won't appear.
I tried shutting off our security software.
The back up program we use can 'see' and 'talk' to it because the backups are still working.
I followed advice in other forums and activated the SMB 1.0 settings in the windows features to no effect. :-[
If there is some little thing I am missing - thanks and I would be very grateful!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48955
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS not on Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 10:14:32 AM »

Enabling of SMBv1 in windows 10 is all thats needed. I map drive to my DNS using a statid IP: //IPaddress/Volume_#

Make sure no security software is blocking the map path or IP address.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RevMatthew

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: NAS not on Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2020, 10:53:25 AM »

thank you for the response.
The SMB setting should have done it, but did not.
I discovered a rather strange solution. When looking at everything I found that the D-Link router had assigned two IP addresses to the D-Link NAS.  How that happens I don't know. Whole system was thus confused. So I rebooted the router. and that reset all the IP Leases. This after I had done a factory reset on the NAS. The two or more likely the former, solved the problem. 
Thus far, I'm up and running.
Thanks again  ::)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48955
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS not on Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2020, 02:53:48 PM »

One thing to remember is that if you set a Static IP address ON the NAS it needs to be outside of the routers IP address pool, not with in it. So the fix was probably rebooting everything and the DNS was set to obtain IP addressing and using the new IP address given by the router probably solve it.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RevMatthew

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: NAS not on Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2020, 05:48:55 AM »

YUP absolutely.  Now will put the IP beyond the pool.
thanks again
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48955
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS not on Windows 10 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2020, 06:19:14 AM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!