• December 06, 2019, 07:02:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: My router is somehow blocking access to some Counter-Strike: Source servers.  (Read 2145 times)

flipdesk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

I made a steam forum post already so I'm gonna copy/paste to save time.

"If I wire my computer directly to my modem I can see and connect to servers just fine. But when wired through my router I can only see some servers, and if I try to connect manually to the servers that are not showing I get "server is not responding".

I could connect to the servers while wired through my router only just a week ago and there wasn't any changes since then, to my knowledge. Both computers in my house are having this problem so I think it must be the router.

I have a D-Link DIR-625, I've tried disabling all of the firewall options, disabling QoS and UPnP, resetting it and the modem with the reset buttons, and adding steams ports. Nothing worked."

I know it's an old router but I noticed FurryNutz is still active here and seems to be very helpful so I was hoping maybe you know a solution before I have to buy a new one.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2249

What modem do you have?

Enable UPnP. If it is disabled, you will need to open ports to the computer running CS.

Counter-Strike: Source
TCP: 27015-27050
UDP: 1200, 3478, 4379-4380, 27000-27030
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 10:17:23 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

flipdesk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

My modem is a Cisco DPC3010.

UPnP is enabled but I tried adding the CS ports anyways and it still doesn't work.
Logged

flipdesk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

I've tried all the troubleshooting suggestions on the Router Troubleshooting Suggestions and Tips post. Still no luck.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 08:51:10 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2249

Put the router in DMZ to the IP of the computer running CS. If it still does not work, something else is blocking it.
Logged

flipdesk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

The firmware version is 3.08 which is the most current version, the older firmware version wouldn't let some wireless devices connect with WPA2 enabled so I had to update a while ago.

I set up DMZ and it still doesn't connect, I tried both computers. So I guess the routers not blocking it but I can connect if I wire directly to the modem still so that's pretty confusing.
Logged

flipdesk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

It fixed itself. Must have been Steam's problem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My router is somehow blocking access (RESOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2019, 07:51:38 AM »

Glad it was a SW issue and not a router issue. I would not recommend using the DMZ.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting