• October 14, 2019, 04:57:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR882 bugged. Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11  (Read 577 times)

uncpotato

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR882 bugged. Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11
« on: April 28, 2019, 03:31:44 AM »

DIR882 bugged.   Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11

I was forced to "upgrade" my router because the broadband line is now gigabit and now upgrade using this strangely behaving DIR882

(1) After login, the router first screen give me the "no internet" status page.  But then, the router keeps asking for the password no matter what other menu I'm trying to access.    What confuses me is that I'm running it on a fixed IP and internet access is okay on my client computers already, only the router complains the line "Internet disconnected".  There is nothing I can do through the setup page.
Fun facts: Cable Status: disconnected,  Connection Type : Static, IP Address: not available !
This goes away after unplugging the power and connect again several times.  But after a week running fine, I software reset the router (due to VPN problem) and this is happening again.  Since I'm remote connecting, there is no fix remotely (even not software reboot)  Unless after the holiday and some colleague is at the office to help.  This is unacceptable behaviour.

(2) IMO, the menu is overly simplified (for home users I guess)    For Quick VPN, I put Uers1, and same for password and preset key (MSCHAP is left default).   My iphone and windows connects okay.   Then under user,  I create another user User2 and also same password, and got a tick for VPN function.   But with User2, no matter what I do, I cannot login through VPN, windows says user/password problem.  But if I only change to USER1, windows VPN login good.   Am I missing something?   I am forced to let all VPN users using USER1, and there is not mention if USER1 can have multiple login.

(3) Unlike my old router, Quick VPN is under another subnet, in my case is 192.168.95.X, I do not find this setting anywhere.  Since I am setting up a route to this subnet, I am a bit worry if this 95 is always fixed ?

(4) After testing VPN settings and successfully connection with a notebook and iphone, the router left running for two days and VPN is not longer working.   The same iphone and notebook is unable to login with VPN.  It connects okay again after a router reboot and nothing else changed,  so there must be something bugged with the VPN for the router.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2019, 06:28:55 AM by uncpotato »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR882 bugged. Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2019, 08:57:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

What browser are you using to managed the router? Same happens in other browsers?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

uncpotato

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR882 bugged. Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2019, 09:51:46 AM »

The router is connected to internet through a gigabit broadband service.  LAN side is connected to a gigabit 48port switch then to the whole office with cat 5e cables.
I have not done a factory reset, nor a firmware update.
It is out of the box, first time setup.   
The "ask for password on every click" problem actually happen the very first time reboot.   What I have done the first time setup is a fixed ip, mask, gateway, DNS.   A SSID and password the the WIFI.   The router works right at that moment.
My main browser if firefox, and I tried chrome with the same result.
After a cold boot, the loopy password goes away.  So I think it just a temporaly problem, which can be forgotten.   Next I start to set up around 10 or so port forwarding.  Then VPN.   Everything works for 2 days.    WHen I realized I cannot login with VPN with a no respond, I remotely connect to my desktop computer with VNC (which means the router is working), then software reboot the router, magically VPN login works again, I can still VNC to my desktop in my office, which also means router is actually working.  But my desktop firefox shows the router status page says "no internet" with the router.
The setup is done on Friday.  Today is Sunday.  so I cannot cold restart the router now,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR882 bugged. Hardware Ver A1, Firmware 1.11
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2019, 09:52:16 AM »

  • What ISP Modem or ONT Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting