D-Link Network Storage > DNS-340L

DNS-340L - doubts about a message after HD configuration change

(1/1)

Gargarospo:
Hello everybody,

I own a NAS-340L and so far I used it with two 3TB HD's: Volume_1 was the "working copy", while Volume_2 was the backup of Volume_1.
A few days ago I bought another 3TB HD and a 6TB HD, because I wanted to set up a RAID5 volume with the 3TB HD's, using the 6TB HD as the backup for the RAID5 volume.

* The first step was to copy all the datas on the 6TB HD
* The second step, was to build the RAID5 volume, but I had to remove the 6TB HD from the NAS, because I had no choice about which HD use for the RAID5 volume
* The third step was to reinsert the 6TB HD back in bay 4 of the NASA this point, the led of bay 4 is always orange, and when I access to SmartCenter there's always a popup reporting this message: "This Volume is roaming from a ShareCenter on your network or has been previously been configured. Click OK to integrate it into your current ShareCenter Volume. Failure to do so might crash the Volume and it cannot be rebuilt! Click Skip to ignore this message."

Since I could correctly access to all the content of the 6TB HD with Samba, and since I just knew where that 6TB HD came from (the NAS itself, that is), I skipped the message. Everything actually works as expected: the ShareCenter reports Volume_1 as RAID5, and Volume_4 as Standard, so I started the copy of all the datas from the 6TB HD to the new 6TB RAID5 volume.

But the led of bay 4 (6TB HD) is always orange, and that message is always there, when I access to the SmartCenter.

So I ask for a suggestion, because "Click OK to integrate it into your current ShareCenter Volume" worries me a little bit: it makes me think that the SmartCenter would modify the RAID5 volume, adding the 6TB HD to it, hence reformatting everything with total loss of my datas (I don't have another 3TB HD for another backup yet).

So, has anyone any idea about the meaning of the message reported to me by the SmartCenter? Can I safely "Click OK to integrate it into your current ShareCenter Volume" or is it better that I keep the message where it is and the orange led, since everything is actually working?

Cheers,
Michele

FurryNutz:
Link>Welcome!


* What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
* Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
* What region are you located?
Does the user manual give LED color indicators?

Gargarospo:
Hello,

I solved my problem myself, being brave and bold.
My doubt was that the message reported by my DNS-340L ("This Volume is roaming from a ShareCenter on your network or has been previously been configured. Click OK to integrate it into your current ShareCenter Volume. Failure to do so might crash the Volume and it cannot be rebuilt! Click Skip to ignore this message.") could mean something like: "If you click OK I will integrate your 6 TB HD in the existing RAID5 array and I will reformat every HD I find inside me".
But then, I thought that before formatting anything, the NAS would have asked me some sort of a confirmation. So I clicked OK, and after some (very long) seconds of silence (no warnings, no request for confirmations... just silence), everything was just right: nothing was formatted, all the leds are white since then and there is no worrying message anymore.

So the problem of this topic is solved, because the NAS recognised correctly the HD as "previously configured" and basically it woudln't had to do nothing.

Cheers

FurryNutz:
Glad you got it figured out. Ya, can be kind of worrysome when dealing with drives that are already formatted and have data on them and the thought of loosing the data.  :o

Enjoy.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

Go to full version