• October 19, 2020, 09:31:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router  (Read 4212 times)

usman15

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« on: September 07, 2018, 04:44:45 AM »

This is what i only get when i click on connected clients "you can block a device from accessing your network completely"
can any one help me out with this ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2018, 06:40:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What browser are you using? Try IE11, FF or Opera?
Post a screen capture of what your seeing?
 Adding Screenshots In A Post
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lx5

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • THINK business, PLAY technology, DO innovation
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 03:54:13 AM »

This is what i only get when i click on connected clients "you can block a device from accessing your network completely"
can any one help me out with this ?

Do not believe that model DIR-853 was released in USA.
(DLink USA support pages do not list it...)

Nevertheless, should you still be seeking assistance - then perhaps the following will be of help to you:
1. For product information published via another official DLink support website (includes manual and Quick Information Guide)
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/techsupport/search.aspx?m=DIR-853
2. For firmware update: enter model number on this official DLink support page:
https://tsd.dlink.com.tw/downloads2008detail.asp
As of today [Dec 2018] this lists firmware for "DIR-853 A1 FW v1.02" and " DIR-853 A2 FW v1.02"

Intriguingly, the DIR-853 unit that I encountered did was hardware A3 (not listed on TW webpage).
This unit did not offer a mechanism (via GUI) to backup the config or firmware on the unit. Perhaps someone did not want their modified firmware from being replaced...?!?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2018, 10:23:29 AM »

All FW for Rev A models are applicable and supported. So Rev A3 FW can use Rev A1 and A2 FW.

This is what i only get when i click on connected clients "you can block a device from accessing your network completely"
can any one help me out with this ?

Do not believe that model DIR-853 was released in USA.
(DLink USA support pages do not list it...)

Nevertheless, should you still be seeking assistance - then perhaps the following will be of help to you:
1. For product information published via another official DLink support website (includes manual and Quick Information Guide)
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/techsupport/search.aspx?m=DIR-853
2. For firmware update: enter model number on this official DLink support page:
https://tsd.dlink.com.tw/downloads2008detail.asp
As of today [Dec 2018] this lists firmware for "DIR-853 A1 FW v1.02" and " DIR-853 A2 FW v1.02"

Intriguingly, the DIR-853 unit that I encountered did was hardware A3 (not listed on TW webpage).
This unit did not offer a mechanism (via GUI) to backup the config or firmware on the unit. Perhaps someone did not want their modified firmware from being replaced...?!?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kar200

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2019, 03:27:05 AM »

All FW for Rev A models are applicable and supported. So Rev A3 FW can use Rev A1 and A2 FW.


Hi there and thanks for the info (I have been looking online for quite sometime to check if this is possible.

I have the same model and I believe it has been designed for a single ISP for the moment (REV A3).

I am tried to flash different version of the DIR-853 but they all fail through the web interface. When I check the logs the updater checks the uboot and says it's incorrect and does not let me flash it.

I have to say that this version of the firmware is completely crippled by dlink (I am sure its by request for the ISP). Therefore there is no DLNA, no torrent client, no telnet, and a lot more features not availble.

I have been trying for hours to access the emergency room and I tried every combination possible and running wireshark at the same time to see if there is any clue about other flashing methods (like tftp).

I have been through the posts here regarding the recovery methods and i cannot figure out a way to access the recovery method.

I even contacted Dlink directly and they said that since its a project dedicated for that particular ISP they cannot provide me even with the correct firmware image (not avalble on the dlink website either).

If anyone has something else I could try to flash a different firmware please let me know.

Thanks

K.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2019, 10:50:41 AM »

That would explain it for Rev A3. Some ISPs will develop there own FW based on D-Link hardware thus ISP will give this out only to there customers. For these units, you'll need to contact the ISP and ask for help and information regarding there specific units as they are responsible for support and handling of there units.


All FW for Rev A models are applicable and supported. So Rev A3 FW can use Rev A1 and A2 FW.


Hi there and thanks for the info (I have been looking online for quite sometime to check if this is possible.

I have the same model and I believe it has been designed for a single ISP for the moment (REV A3).

I am tried to flash different version of the DIR-853 but they all fail through the web interface. When I check the logs the updater checks the uboot and says it's incorrect and does not let me flash it.

I have to say that this version of the firmware is completely crippled by dlink (I am sure its by request for the ISP). Therefore there is no DLNA, no torrent client, no telnet, and a lot more features not availble.

I have been trying for hours to access the emergency room and I tried every combination possible and running wireshark at the same time to see if there is any clue about other flashing methods (like tftp).

I have been through the posts here regarding the recovery methods and i cannot figure out a way to access the recovery method.

I even contacted Dlink directly and they said that since its a project dedicated for that particular ISP they cannot provide me even with the correct firmware image (not avalble on the dlink website either).

If anyone has something else I could try to flash a different firmware please let me know.

Thanks

K.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kar200

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2020, 09:25:57 AM »

Sorry to revive an old thread but I thought I will add a few more details I have found (Thanks to COVID19).

The DIR-853 A3 is indeed a special breed. After having a look through the hardware online and the one I have i realized it is different.

The DIR-853 A3 is the same hardware as the DIR-1360. 256MB ram and a TSOP48 NAND chip ( w29n01hvsina) at 128MB.

The board inside has the label clearly printer (DIR1360 REV 1.0). I am not an expert so for some reason I thought they just shared the same board at first.

The emergency room is not possible through the reset button. It has to be enabled through serial on uboot at boot time. This indeed allowed me to flash a different firmware. The only issue is that it doesn't allow any encrypted firmware to be uploaded which seems to be all of them nowadays with Dlink.

After compiling the DIR-1360 firmware from the Dlink source code and uploading it through recovery process I managed to get a working DIR-1360 firmware. IT has a lot more options than the DIR-853. I have not tested it properly so I might have missed some hardware differences.

Again all this is to do with the DIR-853 A3. I believe it is specific to a single ISP so don't try this on a different model (which I believe has only 16mb rom chip).

K.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2020, 10:03:54 AM »

Yes, some ISPs contract with router mfrs to get HW from Mfrs and then the ISPs develop and put there own FW on them. These are specific to ISPs and D-Link doesn't support them after that. IF this was apart of an ISP package and was given to you by them, you may want to revert the router back to what they had loaded on it, unless other wise, if you bought it from them, then of course, load what you want. Just know, D-Link won't officially support it.

Just curious where did you find the information about your routers HW from? I miss wikidevi. It's no longer around.  :(


Is this the router you have?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 10:08:39 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kar200

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2020, 08:08:21 PM »

Yes this is the one. The outside that is. The inside is different from the "normal" version.

My router is already dead due to a wrong flash. And yes it's part of a 2 year internet plan and no they don't take them back. The one I still work on at the moment is actual a second hand one bought locally.

I found out about the hardware by looking inside and throguh the serial output. I then compared to what I found online. There is wikidevi website actually that links to the fcc one where it has internal and external pics.


Building from source with dlink GPL is easier than I thoguht. This is thanks l the good step by step Readme file with the exact OS version used to compile. I am just an enthusiast with too much free time at the moment.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2020, 06:13:47 AM »

Can you post links to the wikidevi site and the FCC link?

Yes this is the one. The outside that is. The inside is different from the "normal" version.

My router is already dead due to a wrong flash. And yes it's part of a 2 year internet plan and no they don't take them back. The one I still work on at the moment is actual a second hand one bought locally.

I found out about the hardware by looking inside and throguh the serial output. I then compared to what I found online. There is wikidevi website actually that links to the fcc one where it has internal and external pics.


Building from source with dlink GPL is easier than I thoguht. This is thanks l the good step by step Readme file with the exact OS version used to compile. I am just an enthusiast with too much free time at the moment.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kar200

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2020, 04:24:59 PM »

Can you post links to the wikidevi site and the FCC link?

Yes this is the one. The outside that is. The inside is different from the "normal" version.

My router is already dead due to a wrong flash. And yes it's part of a 2 year internet plan and no they don't take them back. The one I still work on at the moment is actual a second hand one bought locally.

I found out about the hardware by looking inside and throguh the serial output. I then compared to what I found online. There is wikidevi website actually that links to the fcc one where it has internal and external pics.


Building from source with dlink GPL is easier than I thoguht. This is thanks l the good step by step Readme file with the exact OS version used to compile. I am just an enthusiast with too much free time at the moment.

My bad I called it wikidevi but it wasnt (I thought it was).
This is the link I used. It has a link in the page to FCCID page which has a lot of info as well as pics.

http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-853_rev_A1

Again this is not my router (A3 version). But in the details you can clearly see that the flash size is 16MB where in mine is 128Mb.

A guy on the DD-WRT forum posted pictures of the same model as mine. You can see the difference.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321874&sid=140829221456a3b23eae63c231ac58d9

If you go to this page for the DIR_1360 it actually looks the same (not the outside). This is how I sort of guessed.

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=Y&application_id=1lxRsfyl2Ct7LXExgrEo2w%3D%3D&fcc_id=KA2IR853A1

By the way I flashed both DIR-853 and DIR-1360 from source and they both worked . I guess I was just lucky that Dlink used the same sort of source code "ish" and board type on both models.

Mine has a couple of missing partitions (empty). They are still labeled correctly (mydlink for example) but on the web interface when you try to go into it I get an error message. I guess they are populated from factory and not through the upgrade process.




Logged

kar200

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: i Cant view connected clients in Dlink Dir 853 Router
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2020, 05:09:36 PM »

After playing a bit with the built 1360 firmware I realized that I cannot use the USB port. I am not sure if this is due to something I have done but the the port led stays on and I tried different ways and it didn't make a difference.

Wireless and internet seemed to work as far as I can tell (it is not my main router).

This is  just for others in case they want to go this path especially there is no coming back as ht official firmware is no where to be seen.

Also the mydlink partition exists but is empty (FF FF). This makes the mydlink option in the gui fail with an error message.

Again there are maybe other stuffs I might have missed but I guess keeping the official image is the safest unless you want to explore :) and even then I am not sure if there are other options that are not working.



 
Logged