• December 10, 2019, 11:45:50 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.  (Read 2253 times)

ffury10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« on: June 17, 2018, 10:11:48 AM »

Dir-655 A3  FW 137NA
After years of faithful service my 2 655's are now timing out at around 40 second. and returning to the logon screen.
It's a real pain to try and make any changes in 40 seconds and save.
I even installed an old version of Firefox 40.02 and get the same results.
I use Chrome as default browser and I have tred IE11 also.
Why is this happening?
I recently switched from mediacom cable ISP to ATT fiber. I run the ATT router in pass-through mode and use my 655 as my gateway.
Anyone else having this problem?
Solutions to fix timeout?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47976
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2018, 10:21:49 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Even while your navigating the UI the web page is timing out and going back to the log in screen?

Try IE11 with compatibility mode enabled...If this fails,

Try a factory reset, re-load FW, factory reset then setup from scratch using IE11 in compatibility mode.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ffury10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2018, 11:04:16 AM »

Update... Every connection is RJ45.
I have isolated the problem to exist when trying to stay connected only when using my personal computer. I have 2 other computers on my home network that DO NOT time out as described. This is an issue with my computer, not the routers...
THX....
I have disabled AVG virus.
Turned off PIA VPN. Turned of Magicjack.
Next I'll clear the DNS cache.
any suggestions?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47976
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2018, 06:56:48 AM »

What are the OS versions your using on these PCs?

Let us know the results if disabling your apps and trying IE11 with compatibility mode enabled. Sounds like something on your PC isn't right.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ffury10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2018, 07:30:26 AM »

PC is Windows 7 x64 with a Realtek PCIe GBE Family Ethernet controller.
IE11 compatibility mode made no difference. I even tried an older version of Firefox.
I have 2 other Win 7 x64 computers on my home network that connect with no problem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47976
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2018, 08:02:13 AM »

Same NIC mfr in all PCs?

Try booting this PC to safe mode WITH Networking and test...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ffury10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2018, 09:05:17 AM »

I was able to boot into safe mode and navigate the 655 successfully.
I booted back into Win 7 normally and disabled my Realtek NIC and added an airlink wireless usb adapter. The connection through wireless timed out just like the realtek connection.
I booted up a virtual machine using VMware of Win 7 x64. I was able to navigate the 655 successfully through the virtual machine.
I am currently going to run SFC /scannow and then CHKDSK /r.
Then I'll check my flash and JRE for updates..
It's a mystery.............
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47976
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2018, 10:13:34 AM »

Let us know if you find out anything...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ffury10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2018, 01:59:17 PM »

PROBLEM SOLVED..
Running chkdsk repaired the problem even though the scan did not report any errors.

You live and learn..... This was a strange one.....
        Thx to all................
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2251
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen.
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2018, 02:20:00 PM »

That was strange. Glad it is working now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47976
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Around 40 second then Time outs back to login screen. (RESOLVED)
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2018, 02:22:00 PM »

Wow, so something on the disk is causing the routers web page to time out prematurely. Very mysterious.  :o

Glad you got it working. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting