• November 11, 2019, 02:23:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: QOS for VOIP  (Read 2378 times)

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
QOS for VOIP
« on: May 22, 2018, 05:46:53 AM »

Hi,

I have 4 phones on VOIP their IP are DHCP adresses. 
The Dlink is connected 100meg half duplex to a fiber router
My internet access is a fiber link 10meg up and 10meg down

My link 10 meg is regulary 100% used and phone are unusables.

How can i set QOS for preserving the voice quality ?  On ports on IP ??   

I made : Network / traffic management
then bandwith profil , where i have created  a plocicy 'phone out'   (outband/prority/dedicated/high)
Thren created services in traffic shapping menu on SIP TCP and SIP UDP protocols
Activated also Bride profiles

But i'm lost ....

Laurent






Thanks for your help
« Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 05:59:01 AM by scoody »
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2018, 08:41:56 AM »

You can try the following.

-Create a Customer Service-
name: SIP-Both
Source Port Start: 1
Source Port End: 65535
Destination Port Start: 5060
Destination Port End: 5060

Create a Bandwidth Profile-
name: OutboundForSip
Policy Type: outbound
WAN interface: Dedicated WAN
Profile Type: Rate (or Priority)
Min. Band Rate: 1
Max. Band Rate: 2000

-Create a new Traffic Selector-
Available Profile: OutboundForSip
Service: SIP-Both
Traffic Selector Match Type: IP
IP address: 192.168.10.1 (which ever the IP/network of phones)
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0





Logged

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2018, 01:08:25 AM »

great, just when i go in "Bridge Trafic Selectors" , in the dropdown list i have nothing.
Custom service and bandwith profile are created with parameters you gave, no trouble on this part.

I will have to do this 4 times for the 4 phones ?
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2018, 08:18:59 AM »

Just make sure your DSR-1000AC is updated to the latest firmware version followed by a factory reset. Please try again with a different web-browser.

Yes this should work for all phones using SIP protocol in the network of 192.168.10.X with mask 255.255.255.0. If it was for a single device then it would be set 192.168.10.X with mask 255.255.255.255.
Logged

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2018, 02:56:58 AM »

Hi,
My firmware is 3.11_WW ,

i created the Bandwidth Profile- in BRIDGE bandwidth instead of bandwidth profile then i was able to select it in dropdown menu .

how can i monitor if it works ?   

The Phone quality is still bad.

Thanks for your help .

Laurent
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 08:06:39 AM by scoody »
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2018, 08:44:36 AM »

Is the quality the same over local to local calls?

-Try specifying the IP to a single phone using 32bit mask.
192.168.10.X 255.255.255.255
-Or try creating a "inbound" profile.

I do not see any way to monitor that type of traffic via the GUI.
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2018, 09:01:22 AM »

Or leave the current settings and add another profile for the other bandwidth.

https://imgur.com/21ryBxq
https://imgur.com/8IVeQbs
Logged

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 12:11:58 AM »

Thanks for the pictures, i see you are in traffic shapping , and i was in bridge traffic shapping.
Si i created like you and disable bridge traffic shapping.
Yes local to local calls is excellent.
I will see quality today.

just a question why setting minimum to 1 and max to 2000kb ?   i understand the 2meg max to not use all my link at 10meg but does it says that i have only 1kbs garanty at minimum ?  why don't put min 1000 and max 2000 to be sure to have always 1meg for VOIP ?

Laurent

« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 12:19:21 AM by scoody »
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2018, 07:30:35 AM »

Hmmm.. not sure how that exactly works but I see it like this... what happens if the SIP traffic only uses 900kb? will that traffic pass through the 8meg profile?

You may need to experiment to find out what works best.

 
Logged

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2018, 09:13:38 AM »

Quality is a little better, but still not good.
I don't know how to mesure what bandwith i need.

instead of rate i try priority and for inbound and outbound.  I will test like this

Laurent
« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 09:22:40 AM by scoody »
Logged

scoody

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2018, 07:35:52 AM »

after setting priority in inbound and outband for sipboth , it's a little better, but sometimes quality is bad.   
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QOS for VOIP
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2018, 08:28:44 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

after setting priority in inbound and outband for sipboth , it's a little better, but sometimes quality is bad.   
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting