• October 15, 2019, 02:31:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: problem with RAID1  (Read 1125 times)

yikoru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
problem with RAID1
« on: May 11, 2018, 06:22:57 PM »

hi all.
I have a problem with my DNS320L, about yesterday every time i log in in the web interface appears a meesage to rebuid Raid1 manually, i do, but when i restart the nas the same message appears after log in, i run a extended SMART test in both disk and both is ok, attached the log and the result of test

Log
May 11 22:19:54 "Volume_1" Has Been Rebuilt.
May 11 22:11:38 "Volume_1" Is Rebuilding
May 11 22:11:32 admin logged in.
May 11 22:07:28 "Volume_1" Has Degraded.
May 11 22:06:44 System is rebooted or power up successfully.
May 11 22:06:13 System Time Is Updated By RTC.
May 11 22:04:54 System has been restarted.
May 11 22:01:58 Scan disk action on Volume_1 is completed. No error found.
May 11 21:26:34 "Volume_1" Has Been Rebuilt.
May 11 21:24:19 "Volume_1" Is Rebuilding
May 11 21:24:13 admin logged in.
May 11 21:23:50 "Volume_1" Has Degraded.
May 11 21:23:03 System is rebooted or power up successfully.


SMART test result
   
Disk1 WDC WDC WD40PURX-64GVNY0 - Pass [2018/05/11 07:54:59]
Disk2 WDC WDC WD40PURX-64GVNY0 - Pass [2018/05/11 09:47:13]

EDIT: firmware version

Current NAS Firmware Version   
1.09
Firmware Date   
01/11/2017
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 06:31:46 PM by yikoru »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 09:29:50 AM »

How long have you had these drives and how old are they?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

yikoru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2018, 02:26:50 PM »

How long have you had these drives and how old are they?
i buyed the disks in some time ago, but recently i started to use in the nas i think 2 or 3 week ago
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2018, 08:47:07 AM »

Do you have a lot of data? If not, I would get the data off of them and set up the drives again. Either use standard drive formatting or try RAID again.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

yikoru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2018, 05:10:35 PM »

Do you have a lot of data? If not, I would get the data off of them and set up the drives again. Either use standard drive formatting or try RAID again.
so far I can backup the information (1.5Tb) and I had planned to do that but I'm worried that something similar will happen again and I can not back up the information after backing up the info I'm going to upgrade the firmware to see what happens
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1453
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2018, 08:55:22 AM »

The first thing you should do is backup your data - RAID 1 is NOT a backup and unless you have at least two tested copies of your data you don't have a backup.

OK, that being said, a few questions.
1) is your NAS box on 24/7/365 or do you switch it off every night?
2) does the mains power circuit you have the NAS connected to suffer from voltage drops and surges (heavy machinery on that circuit, refrigerators, air con etc.)?
3) if you switch the NAS off at night how much time is there between the last access to the NAS and power down?
4) do you have a copy of the disk manufacturers disk test tools?

There are reasons for those questions because until we have a clear picture of what is going on there is little hope of advising you of what to look for or do to fix your problem.

Logged

yikoru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2018, 04:59:23 PM »

The first thing you should do is backup your data - RAID 1 is NOT a backup and unless you have at least two tested copies of your data you don't have a backup.

OK, that being said, a few questions.
1) is your NAS box on 24/7/365 or do you switch it off every night?
2) does the mains power circuit you have the NAS connected to suffer from voltage drops and surges (heavy machinery on that circuit, refrigerators, air con etc.)?
3) if you switch the NAS off at night how much time is there between the last access to the NAS and power down?
4) do you have a copy of the disk manufacturers disk test tools?

There are reasons for those questions because until we have a clear picture of what is going on there is little hope of advising you of what to look for or do to fix your problem.


hello thank you for answering, here the answers

1) is your NAS box on 24/7/365 or do you switch it off every night? I turn it off every night, the NAS turns on about 3 times a week for 3 weeks
2) Does the mains power circuit have you connected to suffer from voltage drops and surges (heavy machinery on that circuit, refrigerators, air with etc.)? nothing
3) if you switch the NAS off at night how much time is there between the last access to the NAS and power down? approx 18 hours
4) do you have a copy of the disk manufacturers disk test tools? no :/
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2018, 06:53:30 PM »

you can get the Mfr disk test tools from the Mfrs web site.

I would leave the DNS on. I believe there is a sleep feature. Might try this instead of turning OFF and back ON the DNS.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1453
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2018, 02:01:57 AM »

Thanks for the answers. 

The way RAID 1 works is that the two disks are exactly the same and this state is checked by the firmware at startup, after every write and read.  When the disks wake up from sleep the disks are also checked.  If there is a discrepancy the array is marked as 'degraded' and is either automatically rebuilt (if that setting is on) or it asks for a manual rebuild.

What you are seeing is usually caused by an incomplete write to one of the disks or a part of a track failing to read/write. 

Incomplete write will be caused by a power down while the write process is going on or a drop in voltage to the unit (a power spike does similar things) hence the questions 1 to 3.

Another cause of the disks getting out of sync are problems with the platter surfaces.  A SMART scan may show these as 'ID 5 Reallocated Sector Count' if the disk firmware does auto Sector Reallocation on bad read/write.  To test for that you need the manufacturers disk test tools.  There are many things that can cause problems with the platter surfaces, a manufacturing defect although most of those are caught by the QC department and the most common, the heads touching the active surface caused by a heavy knock or a drop or a voltage drop that slows the drive motor down (there are others but these are the norm).

Fixing power based problems can be accomplished by running the unit off a UPS and/or leaving the unit powered on 24/7/365 (my 4 units have been on for just over 5 years now).

Mild platter surface problems can be fixed by reformatting the disk which with a software RAID requires that both disks be formatted an an array.

I hope this information helps you fix your problem.
Logged

yikoru

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: problem with RAID1
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2018, 02:53:14 PM »

hello and excuse the delay in my response
indeed, although at the beginning of the problem I ran an extended SMART diagnosis with optimal results for both discs, today I get problems with one of them.
I have been checking and there is no increase in these counters so I presume a low voltage or a bad shutdown (although I always had the precaution to turn it off from the web interface or from the button and wait for it to effectively disconnect)
I already upload a ticket with the manufacturer of the disk to see if they can solve it, at the moment everything has gone well and I am creating a local USB copy with synchronization (and I would like if you could explain a bit how that mode works).

Smart Result
----------------------------------Drive2------------------------------------------------------

ID   Item                          Now    Worst  Thresh    Raw Value
1    Raw_Read_Error_Rate           200    199    51        4         
3    Spin_Up_Time                  198    176    21        7075     
4    Start_Stop_Count              100    100    0         80       
5    Reallocated_Sector_Ct         136    136    140       1903     
7    Seek_Error_Rate               200    200    0         0         
9    Power_On_Hours                100    100    0         342       
10   Spin_Retry_Count              100    253    0         0         
11   Calibration_Retry_Count       100    253    0         0         
12   Power_Cycle_Count             100    100    0         37       
192  Power-Off_Retract_Count       200    200    0         35       
193  Load_Cycle_Count              200    200    0         44       
194  Temperature_Celsius           109    103    0         43       
196  Reallocated_Event_Count       130    130    0         70       
197  Current_Pending_Sector        200    200    0         0         
198  Offline_Uncorrectable         100    253    0         0         
199  UDMA_CRC_Error_Count          200    200    0         0         
200  Multi_Zone_Error_Rate         199    199    0         608
« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 03:00:21 PM by yikoru »
Logged