• December 15, 2019, 09:48:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: I have a DSL-G225 but its not listed - question about openDNS  (Read 988 times)

moshiachnow

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2

B"H

I know this is about a different router but please cut me some slack - someone here probably knows how to solve this issue and I don't find this model listed. I set up the router, and changed the DNS settings to the settings required to get openDNS to work. I also changed the DNS settings in the PCs adapter to the same settings.

When I run openDNS using my old router (a Netgear) openDNS gives me detailed reports about traffic on my network. When I run it using the D-Link, I get, at the most, only two domains listed.

Does anyone know what I need to do that I am not doing to get openDNS to work?

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I have a DSL-G225 but its not listed - question about openDNS
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2018, 12:26:04 PM »

What region are you located?
This model modem probably does not support any other 3rd party DDNS sites from what is preset already with in the UI.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2259
Re: I have a DSL-G225 but its not listed - question about openDNS
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2018, 12:32:51 PM »

From OpenDNS:

There are usually 2 reasons why OpenDNS is not logging traffic - 1) your devices is not pointing to OpenDNS, and 2) your IP address is not current. Can you check your router/device settings to see if you are pointed to us? Also, you can check on your Dashboard to see if your IP address is up-to-date as most home users have dynamic IP addresses. If both of these are correct, then please send us a ticket with your diagnostic test results. Instructions on how to run the test can be found here: https://support.opendns.com/entries/21841580-Diagnostic-Tool-Link-and-Instructions

Also what Furry said. Was your netgear a modem/router also? Are you using the G225 as a modem or is it bridged behind another modem?
Logged

moshiachnow

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: I have a DSL-G225 but its not listed - question about openDNS
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2018, 12:46:36 AM »

Thanks for the quick reply. The modem/router is pointed to OpenDNS (if by that you mean that it is pointing to the OpenDNS nameservers). I also changed the DNS settings in the network adapter to the same values, thinking that it might help. The IP address is current - according to the OpenDNS Updater ver 2.2.1 and the dashboard. I DO have a dynamic IP address. And the Netgear was also a modem/router (VVG2000) and the G225 is the only device between the phone line and the network.

I notice, however, that the IP address of the network in the Domains report at the top of the page where it says Domains for [name of network: IP address] is not the one that shows up on the OpenDNS updater and at the top of the dashboard. I just went in and added the current IP address, but shouldn't this update automatically?

I ran the diagnostics and the results are at https://diagnostic.opendns.com/d/5658803896844288

Thanks.

[added a day later]: After updating the IP address, it SEEMS to be working just fine.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2018, 11:44:50 PM by moshiachnow »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I have a DSL-G225 but its not listed - question about openDNS
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2018, 10:58:45 AM »

Glad it's working now. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting