• September 22, 2018, 11:57:47 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-605L as a repeater  (Read 3189 times)

madlorence

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-605L as a repeater
« on: April 06, 2018, 12:24:57 AM »

Hi there, I badly need help regarding the DIR-605L I bought yesterday, there's no option on the admin to set the thing to wireless repeater, any help? thank you in advance

-lorence
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-605L as a repeater
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2018, 08:51:00 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Lets make sure the 605L supports Repeater mode first: Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

madlorence

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-605L as a repeater
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2018, 01:28:14 AM »

B2, 2.12

uhm the reason i bought this is to make it a repeater for my existing router, any thoughts how to set this up as a repeater? there's no option for it on the admin.

Thank you in advance and thanks for replying
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1329
Re: DIR-605L as a repeater
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2018, 07:15:18 AM »

The DIR-605L is a router, not a repeater. You need to buy a repeater.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-605L as a repeater
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2018, 10:15:35 AM »

If you don't see any repeating features in the routers UI, this usually means that this features isn't supported on this model router. As suggested, please find a D-Link product that support repeating or extending modes.

Please review the D-Link DAP model product lines for these features.

Good Luck.

B2, 2.12

uhm the reason i bought this is to make it a repeater for my existing router, any thoughts how to set this up as a repeater? there's no option for it on the admin.

Thank you in advance and thanks for replying
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!