• October 22, 2019, 01:59:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: No WPA2 only?!  (Read 3116 times)

Hawaii_Beach

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
No WPA2 only?!
« on: January 14, 2018, 03:07:14 PM »

I bought a DIR-868L today for my gramdma, since I also have owned one the past 3+ years and haven't had any issues with mine.

Thing is that I have Rev A, but the one I bought today was Rev B. Turnes out theres a lot of differences, like a new gui etc.

Getting to the point, I was setting up the wifi when I noticed that you cannot select WPA2 only, so it's WPA(1) + WPA2 and theres no way to change it! WPA is insecure and I want it gone!

  • Region: Europe
  • Firmware: 2.05B02

« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 09:40:40 AM by Hawaii_Beach »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2018, 03:15:17 PM »

Welcome!

Mixed modes are only supported.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hawaii_Beach

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2018, 09:39:57 AM »

.. is this a joke?! Why is there not support for disabling WPA? Is there seriously nothing I can do??
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2018, 09:43:05 AM »

It's mixed mode for compatibility reasons.

You might contact your regional D-link support office on the phone and ask them if something can be done to make a separate WPA2 only selection. Not sure if this will happen. Something D-Link would have to review.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2198
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2018, 09:53:52 AM »

Hmm I know Rev A did have the WPA2 only option. Not sure why they took that out. Unfortunately this product was discontinued a few years ago so not sure if any new firmware will be released.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2018, 09:55:42 AM »

Ya Rev A has WPA 2 only. The New UI only has Mixed WPA/WPA2 Personal. Just like with all new routers using the new UI. This something that could be looked at? At most, WPA is for older devices, however I only use WPA2 if I get a chance to...Most current devices are WPA2 compliant anyways. IT would be nice to have the ability to select WPA2 only...if possible on newer generation supported routers.  ;)
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 10:02:11 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hawaii_Beach

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2018, 11:18:03 AM »


Yes, with Rev A you can select which version of WPA you want to use, accepted values are WPA, WPA2 or Shared.
And sorry but I don't give a damn about compatibility with older clients, especally when WPA is vulnerable to many hacks.

You'd expect a product from dlink, costing over $90 to accually have a WPA2 only mode... I guess I'll have to contact them myself? Don't the devs ever read the forum?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2018, 12:06:46 PM »

Ya thats the old UI. Not seen in the new UI. Well I'm sure there are some users out there that may have use of WPA regardless of any possible vulnerabilities. We still see users using WEP here as well. And why it's still supported in the UI. Even though it has it's own vulnerabilities. It will be up to the wifi cert group who over sees how Mfrs support security modes to grant Mfrs to mandate and exclude what modes everyone as access too. We finally saw mode A stopped being supported. Mode B is still used here and there. One day that will fall off. Maybe WEP and WPA will too. Up to them though.

D-Links security mode selects what devices support so if most if all of your devices support WPA2, then the router will pic WPA2.

I recommend you contact your regional D-Link office and ask about this. The 868L is no longer supported here in the USA so you might have more luck in your region if there still supporting Rev B.

Good Luck.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 12:20:16 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hawaii_Beach

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2018, 01:50:41 PM »

Yea I totally agree, why not ignore that WPA isn't secure at all and ignore the fact.... I guess I'll contact dlink
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2018, 01:52:20 PM »

So is WEP, still being used.  ::)

Let us know how it goes.

« Last Edit: February 20, 2018, 09:09:15 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2198
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2018, 02:02:20 PM »

WPA is not secure at all? Is there a specific exploit you are worried about?  The client when negotiating with the router will select WPA or WPA2. The router will automatically adjust.
Logged

Hawaii_Beach

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2018, 02:46:23 AM »

what a joke
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2018, 08:50:01 AM »

Ive had zero issues with how the router handles wireless security.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2198
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2018, 09:08:40 AM »

If your clients support WPA2, it will connect using WPA2 only. Most devices default to WPA2. The only thing having a WPA2-only feature in the router is that if clients do not support WPA2, it won't be able to connect.

I do not know why they took it out on this revision, but if your clients support WPA2 it will use it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No WPA2 only?!
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2018, 09:11:03 AM »

Since this router is EOL, you can look into using 3rd party FW like DD-WRT. I've installed WRT on my 868L and it works. May have better features your looking for and help extend the routers life.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?board=610.0
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting