• December 09, 2018, 08:30:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )  (Read 2145 times)

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

I set up my dlinkddns hostname, and can ping it. But my DIR-890L only shows "Disconnected". Also, if my router acquires a new IP address, my dlinkddns isn't updated unless I do it manually.

Surely I'm not the only one to have this issue?

« Last Edit: March 03, 2018, 07:03:50 AM by dieseljwt »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DLINKDDNS and DIR-890L router
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 03:43:39 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DLINKDDNS and DIR-890L router
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2018, 07:01:27 AM »

Hardware version: A2
Firmware: 1.20
Region: United States

Neither cable nor DSL - I have fiber optic (FiOS)
No modem used

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 05:05:54 PM »

Is DNS relay enabled or disabled on the 890L?

Is your ISP IP address they give you Dynamic or Static?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2018, 04:59:10 PM »

DNS Relay is enabled; my address is dynamic...which is why I would like it to be updated when it changes.
Logged

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2018, 05:07:48 PM »

Just for the heck of it, I disabled DNS Relay - made no difference.
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 02:52:52 PM »

Can you please test a different DDNS account? I recommend ( https://www.noip.com/), it is also free.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2018, 08:03:53 AM »

Any update on this? Did the use of a different DDNS service work?

I set up my dlinkddns hostname, and can ping it. But my DIR-890L only shows "Disconnected". Also, if my router acquires a new IP address, my dlinkddns isn't updated unless I do it manually.

Surely I'm not the only one to have this issue?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2018, 02:17:23 PM »


Oh yeah, noip.com works like a charm. So much for the D-Link "Dynamic" DNS. I'll be using the one that works.


Logged

dieseljwt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2018, 02:18:31 PM »


And Gattsu...thanks for the tip!

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2018, 02:31:35 PM »

Thanks for the feed back. I presume DDNS should be working.

I'll have D-Link support review this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

celes68

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi, I have then same problem, first with DlinkDDNS and now with noip.com, the conection is good for 24 hrs. but after that time, it disconnects, can you helplme please, thanks.

Model: DIR 890L
firmware: 1.20
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology

Can you try the following and see if anything changes:
Download v1.20 FW again to your PC. Wire connect your PC to the router. Do a factory reset using the routers web page. Skip the set up wizard. Upload the v1.20 FW file, again. After it loads and the router reboots, do one more factory reset then set up from scratch and set up the noip.com DDNS account information then test.

What is your Mfr and model# ISP modem your using with the 890L?

Hi, I have then same problem, first with DlinkDDNS and now with noip.com, the conection is good for 24 hrs. but after that time, it disconnects, can you helplme please, thanks.

Model: DIR 890L
firmware: 1.20
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pthrogmo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2018, 07:02:26 PM »

I think I found a fix.

I was having the same problem with my DIR-890L, set up a dlinkddns.com account, set up a domain, verified external web access and port forwarding were working with my local server, but kept getting "disconnected" when setting up Dynamic DNS on the router. I was trying from both of the preconfig options in the router for dlinkddns.com and dyndns.com, verified my hostname, username and password, would stay "disconnected". I tested with noip.com with my account there, and it connected.

So, I poked around with dyndns, logged in. I noticed that the web address was different, just dyn.com. I went back into the router, set up a manual connection to dyn.com for the address, and voila, connected using my dlinkddns account.

We'll see if it updates as expected.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DLINKDDNS always disconnected, and doesn't update ( DIR-890L router )
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2018, 06:33:00 AM »

Thank you for posting. Keep us posted on how it goes...

I think I found a fix.

I was having the same problem with my DIR-890L, set up a dlinkddns.com account, set up a domain, verified external web access and port forwarding were working with my local server, but kept getting "disconnected" when setting up Dynamic DNS on the router. I was trying from both of the preconfig options in the router for dlinkddns.com and dyndns.com, verified my hostname, username and password, would stay "disconnected". I tested with noip.com with my account there, and it connected.

So, I poked around with dyndns, logged in. I noticed that the web address was different, just dyn.com. I went back into the router, set up a manual connection to dyn.com for the address, and voila, connected using my dlinkddns account.

We'll see if it updates as expected.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!