• September 19, 2018, 11:35:27 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions  (Read 1102 times)

rgraves

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« on: February 16, 2018, 04:00:36 PM »

I'm seeing an unknown IP address in the Internet sessions tab of my router.  I look on the device info page and it is not listed there.  It's also not listed on the wireless page.  The only things listed there are devices I know we have.

I'm thinking it's probably a legitimate device of ours and maybe just an old IP but is there anyway to figure out what device it is?  All I see is the IP address plus two TCP counts on the page.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2018, 11:10:40 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What is the IP address your seeing?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rgraves

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 11:48:16 AM »

I'm running the DIR 850L A1.  Firmware 1.20 which appears to be the latest for my region (Canada).  I'm using a cable modem.

It was a 192.168.0.xxx number that was showing up.

I've had a few times where an IP address appears in the Internet Sessions tab, but not on the wireless tab (all my devices are wireless), and not on the device info tab where I can see the name of the device.  I'm curious as to why one would be appearing and how to identify it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2018, 12:26:54 PM »

Whats the Mfr and model of the cable modem?

You can look at the Status tab and in this section, look down at the connected devices list to see all current connected and assigned IP addressed devices. Any thing here with this unknown IP address? You might turn OFF all devices accept for one. Look at the list, then graduate adding devices one at a time to see how they appear.

There is v1.21 FW available as well.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rgraves

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2018, 12:50:34 PM »

I'm not at my house right now so I can't look at the cable modem.  How would that make a difference?

I'm not seeing the unknown IP on the status page.  That's what caused me some confusion.  I see the IP on the Internet Sessions tab, but not the Status page.  This doesn't happen often, but it has happened a few times which makes me wonder why the two lists don't match up.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45769
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Unknown IP in Internet Sessions
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2018, 12:59:02 PM »

Helps to know if the modem has a router built in.

Post a screen capture of the internet sessions tab when you see this again:
Adding Screenshots In A Post

Let us know if you see this IP address if you turn off all devices or temporarily disable the wifi channels.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!