• November 21, 2018, 05:34:24 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Problem with Nest Cam's  (Read 4788 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #30 on: January 25, 2018, 03:42:15 PM »

What channel is the COVR using now that the FW has fixed the prior Channel issue?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mloc3

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2018, 02:27:43 PM »

The problem is "Implicit Beamforming"  It is apparently on by default with this router and there is no setting to turn it off.  This feature does not play well with nest products.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2018, 06:20:06 AM »

Possible problem that NEST and D-Link should review.
I never saw any issues with my two NEST controllers...I'll have D-Link check on this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2018, 07:04:39 AM »

What Nest products do you have?

I need ALL model numbers and current firmware versions.

What firmware is on the router and extender?

How many devices are connected wirelessly to the router and extender (not just Nest, all of them). How many 2.4 vs 5GHz?

« Last Edit: August 20, 2018, 07:18:01 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

mloc3

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #34 on: August 21, 2018, 04:18:48 PM »

What Nest products do you have?

I need ALL model numbers and current firmware versions.

What firmware is on the router and extender?

How many devices are connected wirelessly to the router and extender (not just Nest, all of them). How many 2.4 vs 5GHz?

I have 3 Nest Outdoor Cams
3 Nest Indoor Cams
7 Nest Protects

All Protects are 2.4  the Cams will do 5 or 2.4

This is not a dlink issue it happens with any router with implicit beamforming enabled the difference is Netgear, Askey, Asus allow you to disable it.  Linksys Velop and Google Wifi routers don't use it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #35 on: August 22, 2018, 06:26:57 AM »

Have you contacted NEST about this? I presume they should also look into this. This is not the first time NEST has had issues with there products running on routers.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #36 on: August 22, 2018, 06:46:14 AM »

Does Nest state this is the reason for the cameras dropping connection?  I will pass this on to the router guy to look into. Hopefully D-Link can add an enable/disable option.
Logged

mloc3

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #37 on: August 23, 2018, 12:45:18 PM »

Nest suggest to turn it off.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #38 on: September 05, 2018, 08:37:43 AM »

We sent in a ticket (Dtrack) to our engineers to look at.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #39 on: September 05, 2018, 09:56:13 AM »

Wonder if there could be any relation to the NEST controllers we are seeing on the COVR-1203...
 ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #40 on: September 05, 2018, 10:04:42 AM »

Yes I am assuming the same issue. The Dtrack I sent included both COVR units and all Nest devices.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #41 on: September 05, 2018, 10:13:16 AM »

Thank you Sir.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #42 on: September 14, 2018, 07:35:58 AM »

Received BETA firmware for the router. This has beamforming disabled so let me know if your nest products work. There may be a performance hit due to the fact that beamforming is disabled. Report any issues.

ftp://FTP2.DLINK.COM/PRODUCTS/COVR-3902-US/BETA/COVR-2600R_Firmware_v101b05_0911_BFdisabled.zip
« Last Edit: September 14, 2018, 12:32:17 PM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1385
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #43 on: September 14, 2018, 10:41:43 AM »

Has this actually been tested or are we the ones testing it ?   (Fond memories of the extender firmware  :o) )
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: Problem with Nest Cam's
« Reply #44 on: September 14, 2018, 10:49:09 AM »

I am not sure about how much testing this had from the vendor. If you have nest product feel free :)  It is more for mloc3 to try.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4