• July 19, 2019, 06:20:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't login to the router.  (Read 24919 times)

FuriousFox

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Can't login to the router.
« on: August 11, 2009, 11:59:28 AM »

When I go to http://192.168.0.1/, I put in my username and password, but it just repeatedly loads the login page. The only way I've found to fix this is to reset the router every time I want to change something, which gets old quick. Is there any real way to fix this?
Logged

xintax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 08:31:10 AM »

try to upgrade firmware, if possible
Logged

phuzz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 07:03:42 PM »

When I go to http://192.168.0.1/, I put in my username and password, but it just repeatedly loads the login page. The only way I've found to fix this is to reset the router every time I want to change something, which gets old quick. Is there any real way to fix this?

Same exact issue here, no matter what the firmware.

D-Link, any clues?

Mine's a DGL-4300 Gamer Lounge
Logged

alex81388

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2009, 07:33:47 PM »

I am having the same problem on my brand new 4500, with the most up-to-date firmware.

Also, I emailed D-Link support but they were useless.
Logged

phuzz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2009, 12:13:01 PM »

From the looks of things, D-Link isn't the product to buy.

Guess I'll toss my 4300, and get something that actually works from another mfr.

Seems this is a large, well-known, but unfixable problem.
Logged

alex81388

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2009, 12:14:31 PM »

*This is a reply just to keep being notified of possible replies & solutions*
Logged

h8maintenance

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2009, 05:15:26 PM »

+1
Logged

jimrome27

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2009, 09:02:07 AM »

try turning your router off for 10 seconds. then try logging in again.
thats what i did before
Logged

jhxb

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2010, 11:03:07 AM »

Bumping this thread.

I've tried resetting it a bunch of times and I still can't login. Do I have to plug in my router a specific way?
Logged

alex81388

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2010, 11:06:21 AM »

I've noticed now that I can only login using IE. Wont let me in with chrome or Firefox.
Logged

jhxb

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2010, 11:12:04 AM »

The username is admin and password is blank right? It keeps on telling me I have the wrong password.
Logged

jhxb

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2010, 11:14:43 AM »

Nevermind. There's 5 wireless security modes. Which one should I use? I just want a password so that I can use wireless, obviously.
Logged

alex81388

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can't login to the router.
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2010, 11:15:24 AM »

Okay that is different than the original problem we were having in this thread.

If you've reset the router, I'm not sure what the defaults are (I've used hundreds of routers now).

Try the following combos:

admin
admin

admin
password

admin
<blank> (nothing entered)


Wireless passwords etc.

I'm at another location from the router so I can't see the options. If there is a WPA+WPA2 option that would be the way to go. Unless you have computers that are older than maybe... 5 years or so, you should be fine with that.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 11:17:04 AM by alex81388 »
Logged