• July 12, 2020, 03:31:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: HDD failure in DNS-323?  (Read 8215 times)

nonlinear

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2017, 08:16:17 PM »

Hello, what is the best way to copy and verify files between drives?  Should I use

rsync -gloptrucv

Or is there some other method that would work better?  One thing about rsync is that I don't know how long this will take for 2TB, or where the transfer is in the process.  However, as I understand it, if I must stop the transfer part way through, I can just reissue this command later and it will only copy those files where the check sums do not match.
Logged

nonlinear

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2017, 05:07:25 PM »

Hello, I am sorry to keep replying in this thread because I realize no one has responded to my last few posts.  However, I have run into a problem.  It's going to take days to transfer data from my external HDD over the network to my newly reformatted RAID 1.  Unfortunately, I have to take my computer to work each day so it will not work to make the transfer at one time.

I have a much faster machine at work however.  Can anyone tell me if it would be OK to remove one drive from the DNS, bring it to work and transfer all files from external to the RAID drive, and then reinsert it back into the DNS?  Would this work, or would it cause some problem?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48960
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2017, 09:41:20 AM »

No, You can't break the RAID configuration.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nonlinear

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2017, 10:01:24 AM »

No, You can't break the RAID configuration.

OK thanks!  I appreciate it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48960
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2017, 10:57:09 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nonlinear

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2017, 09:44:54 AM »

Hello everyone,

I've just logged in to my DNS-323 to shut down, and have another message that the RAID is degraded.  I've been traveling overseas the last weeks, and the box has been powered off since I last used it (and I did not previously see this degraded message).  I did not see any colored lights on the box, so it's again unclear what drive may or may not be affected.

At this point I'm not sure what to do.  Does anyone have any advice?  I'm not sure I want to go through the entire weeks long process again, only to have this problem happen again.  I guess at this point I should purchase a new NAS and new drives(?).  Any advice would be appreciated - leaving tomorrow for another overseas trip, and will likely be out of good internet contact.  So please don't take it personally if I do not respond promptly.   :)
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: HDD failure in DNS-323?
« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2017, 01:27:54 PM »

Since the unit was powered off in, presumably, full working condition and when powered back on you get the degraded message I think, for your peace of mind, it would be better to get a new unit and drives.

This is the reason we recommend these units to our clients - start to get problems, replace whole unit including drives and restore data from the backup.  I know I am looking at this from my business experience where loss of data can be critical but you have to ask yourself 'how important is your data and time.

Since you have a backup of your data and if you decide to replace the unit and drives it should be possible to do some quick tests on the old drives and maybe recycle them to some other use.
 
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]