• November 27, 2020, 10:09:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses  (Read 2569 times)

TheGrunt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« on: July 15, 2017, 09:24:54 PM »

Didn't want to continue the old thread.
Issue - Because DIR-890L is used to connect to 14 Dlink cameras, as well as a PC running D-ViewCam, I need static addresses to make this work.
There are also other Dlink motion sensors, smart plugs, alarms etc that I need to connect.
However, DHCP doesn't work and doesn't assign IP addresses to either wireless or wired connections once static addresses are used.
Are you guys going to fix this, or are you forcing me to buy a new router? This is SO ANNOYING AND UNPROFESSIONAL.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 09:47:39 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

How are the addresses being used? Static IP addresses are set ON devices out side of the routers default IP address pool, i.e. 192.168.0.100 thru .200. IP address reservations are set with in the routers default IP address pool and is set on the router for each device while the devices are set for Automatic obtain IP addressing. When using static IP addressing ON devices, DHCP IP addressing for those devices is not needed.

I have 2 NAS, 1 DNR, 3 printers, 2 wireless APs,  and 3 cameras here and all use static IP addressing on them and all work well with the 890L.
DHCP Methods

« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 09:55:09 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

TheGrunt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 10:35:25 PM »


Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
    IR-890L    HW:A1    FW:1.11
  • What region are you located?
    Does it really matter?! Edmonton, AB.

How are the addresses being used? Static IP addresses are set ON devices out side of the routers default IP address pool, i.e. 192.168.0.100 thru .200. IP address reservations are set with in the routers default IP address pool and is set on the router for each device while the devices are set for Automatic obtain IP addressing. When using static IP addressing ON devices, DHCP IP addressing for those devices is not needed.

I've set the cameras to use static addresses in the range 192.168.0.2x to 4x; each of them has a specific ip address for their location.
the router is set to dhcp mode, giving out addresses from 100 to 200.

I've tried this many times; even when the address range is outside of the range that is allocated to static addresses, the dhcp function still doesn't work.
ie I've set to factory default, then started over again more than thrice.

Can you please suggest what's wrong?
I also would like to use this router's guest wifi function - and since DHCP doesn't work, the guest wifi is useless.


I have 2 NAS, 1 DNR, 3 printers, 2 wireless APs,  and 3 cameras here and all use static IP addressing on them and all work well with the 890L.
DHCP Methods
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 10:38:52 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged

TheGrunt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 10:38:09 PM »

sorry don't know how to use the forum img tags; here's a screenshot of the settings
https://1drv.ms/i/s!Aggp3g1Ws-V7hS-IolNpxpu0Jg5k
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2017, 10:42:05 PM »

What are you seeing when DHCP is not working? Do you have other devices that are not automatically getting an IP address from with in the DCHP IP address pool when they are using automatic obtain IP addressing?

Are the devices with Static IP addresses SET ON those devices, are they working?
What happens if you enable ALWAYS Broadcast (Compatibility for some DHCP clients)?

When you graded FW, did you factory reset, manually load FW, factory reset once more then set up from scratch and not load a saved config from file?

Adding Screenshots In A Post
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 10:46:03 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

TheGrunt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2017, 11:18:23 PM »


What are you seeing when DHCP is not working?
My phone says Failed to obtain IP address
Do you have other devices that are not automatically getting an IP address from with in the DCHP IP address pool when they are using automatic obtain IP addressing?
Of course - the rest of the motion sensors, plugs etc; there are about 15 other devices that can't connect because DHCP wasn't working.
I just deleted the devices and added them back to join another router's wifi network (via myDlink app).


Are the devices with Static IP addresses SET ON those devices, are they working?
yes they work - and they have to be because I'm paranoid about break-ins.
I can see all of those at D-ViewCam.


What happens if you enable ALWAYS Broadcast (Compatibility for some DHCP clients)?
Tried previously - no effect.

When you graded FW, did you factory reset, manually load FW, factory reset once more then set up from scratch and not load a saved config from file?
Yes - did it three times so I'm very sure I did it correctly.

Adding Screenshots In A Post
Thanks for the link - i thought i did it wrongly but it seems it doesn't work with https; ie i uploaded to OneDrive.


Here's the odd part; I went through the troubleshooting link that you sent via the personal msg;
tried the IPv6 - set to local connectivity. And surprise - everything now connects.
Can you please let me know what settings you use for IPv6? is it auto detection, or autoconfig?
I believe previously I had a LAN IPv6 address assigned to the 890L - and that messed up the DHCP.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 11:23:04 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2017, 11:22:25 PM »

I don't use IPv6 since my ISP doesn't support it. I set mine for Local Only for IPv6.

Does you ISP support IPv6 natively? If they do, I recommend phone contacting your ISP to see what actual IPv6 mode they support and configure the router accordingly. If they don't, set the 890L for Local Only. All should work there.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

TheGrunt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2017, 11:37:19 PM »

yes my ISP supports IPv6; I see a whole bunch of details at the WAN router.
For what it's worth, I think there needs to be better documentation around this DHCP piece on why it fails.
Thank you again - that troubleshooting worked!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP not working after using static ip addresses (RESOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2017, 11:36:56 AM »

IF you contact your ISP and they give you some IPv6 recommendations on configuration, please let us know what they are and if they help any. If you configure the router for IPv6 native use and you find the DHCP is not working, then there maybe an issue in FW that needs to be reviewed by D-Link.

Let us know.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.