• July 15, 2019, 03:12:09 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Please help me fix this as we really needed to use this extender.  (Read 3038 times)

popoypunks

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2

Hello,

I have bought this extender together with the router ac1200. The router works good (the 2.4GHZ works perfectly but 5GHz always gets disconnected) and the extender is not working at all. It has a solid red light, I tried to reset it but it didn't change.

Please help me fix this as we really needed to use this extender.

Thank you in advance  (sorry for my bad English)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Please help me fix this as we really needed to use this extender.
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 10:02:57 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DAP? Look at the sticker under the DAP.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DAPs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Be sure to review the user manual for set up and installation instructions...Let us know if you can't get the extender to set up. You may have a bad unit or needs to be replaced.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

popoypunks

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Please help me fix this as we really needed to use this extender.
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2017, 04:26:36 PM »

Hi FurryNutz

Below are the details behind my DAP 1620:
P/N: IAP1620BNA...A2E
S/N: S3A32G8000412
MAC ID: A0AB1B419E2E
H/W VER: A2     F/W VER: 1.04

I'm currently here in the Philippines but I bought the device in Dubai last month (March 2017)
I know that this forum is made only for USA Dlink registered owners, I am just taking my chance if you guys can help me out.
I just can't really find any solutions with the user manual and online.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Please help me fix this as we really needed to use this extender.
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 09:15:18 AM »

After doing a factory reset, can you access the DAP if you connect it to the router? Check the routers client table to see if it got a IP address from the router or see if you can access the DAP at 192.168.0.50 in a web browser.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting