• August 11, 2020, 05:55:05 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: AFP not working for Disk2  (Read 3458 times)

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
AFP not working for Disk2
« on: May 26, 2017, 04:19:19 PM »

I can't get AFP working for Disk2. Disk1 is working fine. When connecting to afp://ip.to.my.nas it shows both disks, but when connecting to disk2 it just keeps loading and eventually shows the error "The share does not exist on the server. Please check the share name, and then try again."
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 01:53:27 PM by generator85 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49052
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 07:12:25 PM »

Does SMB work?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 03:05:14 AM »

Yes SMB works, but I have a problem and I'm checking if it's this problem also exists using a different protocol.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2017, 03:49:11 AM »

1) How did you setup and format the disks - RAID, JBOD or STANDARD?

2) What is the problem you are having? It may be related to how the disks were setup.
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2017, 04:12:26 AM »

They are set up as two seperate disks (Standard). The problem is that when CouchPotato/Sonarr copies over files to the NAS, it's incredibly slow (max. 3MB/s). When copying files over manually it's about 40MB/s). This is over a wired connection.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2017, 05:07:11 AM by generator85 »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2017, 03:06:58 PM »

OK, but I did have to ask about the disks because we have seen someone trying to copy files to the second disk when they were setup as RAID 1.

When you say 'copy manually' is that via D and D from a file manager or via a command line?  The reason I ask is to try and determine if it is a network problem, an application problem, a NAS problem or a settings problem.
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2017, 03:26:26 PM »

I understand. When I say "copy manually" I mean copy and pasting through OSX Finder (the disks mounted with autofs). The problem exists with both Sonarr and CouchPotato, though Sonarr seems to copy a bit faster (about 13 MB/s).

I believe both programs run on python, so maybe has something to do with it...
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2017, 03:12:49 AM »

OK, this looks to be an application setup problem rather than anything to do with the network or NAS.

As I understand it both those programs download data from usenet to your computer.  This process can take time and is designed to work best if the storage directory is on the computer that is doing the downloading.  The fact that you are using the NAS as the storage directory and neither of these programs have been optimised, as far as I know, for network usage there might be your problem.

If you are into programming you can download the source for CouchPotato from GitHub and see if you can improve the networking transfer speeds.  Other than that it looks as if the fastest way is to download to your computer and then either do the manual transfer or setup the NAS to backup the directory you use for storage at fixed times.  I know this is not what you want but sometimes we have to do the best we can when trying to get programs and storage to work together, sorry.
 
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2017, 01:57:48 PM »

Thanks, I've posted a message on the CouchPotato forum so I hope someone can help me there. Unfortunately I'm not skilled enough to fix this myself.

The problem with setting op AFP / NFS still stands though, but fixing it probably won't help me out that much anymore ;)
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2017, 03:12:45 PM »

Sorry, i forgot that.  I will ask my people for their ideas about it tomorrow (the wife of one of my service people uses a Mac so he might be able to find out something).
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2018, 05:25:24 PM »

Hi Ivan, did you ever manage to find something?

This problem is becoming an issue again, since I've no noticed that Plex also has issues with the SMB mounted disk (no issues with the AFP mounted disks). So the issues seems more and more likely to be caused by the NAS.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2018, 03:06:39 AM »

Sorry, we didn't do any extensive testing but we did find that it appears to be setup related - no problems with RAID 1 but single disks show intermittent problems which is no help to you.

I am also sorry that I didn't reply earlier but I retired at the end of last year (at 78 I thought it was time to call it a day) and as a consequence I only look in here at the weekends.
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2018, 05:49:57 AM »

No problem! I was actually surprised that see you answer at all! I now have it sort of working with one disk using AFP and one disk using NFS, but it's not ideal. Maybe I should start looking around for a NAS with support for a newer version of SMB.

Thanks for your help, I hope you enjoy your retirement!

[EDIT]Just tried switching the disks, odd thing is that AFP is still not working for the same disk (now placed in slot 1). Could this issue be related to the type of HDD?[/EDIT]
« Last Edit: February 10, 2018, 06:29:12 AM by generator85 »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2018, 04:05:11 PM »

The fact it appears to be disk related is very interesting and create a few questions.

1)  are both disks the same brand and size?
2)  do both disks have the same SATA interface speed?
3)  do you have another disk you can temporally replace the non working with AFP to test if it is the disk or not?

The reasons for the questions is to, hopefully, determine if it is a physical disk problem or if it is a problem with bad information in the MBR.
Logged

generator85

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AFP not working for Disk2
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2018, 02:36:59 PM »

These are the disks I'm using:
- Western Digital WD30EZRX (3TB, SATA-600)
- Seagate Barracuda ST4000DM005 (4TB, SATA-600)

The Seagate is the one having AFP issues. I don't have a spare disk laying around, but if I can get my hands on one I'll definitely try if it makes a difference!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2