• November 13, 2019, 03:50:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Transmission Remote Password  (Read 3169 times)

iceage2609

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Transmission Remote Password
« on: January 04, 2017, 02:20:47 PM »

Hi there, i just want to add torrents to Transmission when i am at work,so using http://mylocalip:9092/transmission/web/ works ofcourse just fine inside the house but from a distance i had to do some port forwarding. I logged in the router and forward 9092 port to the local ip of the Dlink320L . I used http://myDYNDNS:9092/transmission/web/ and worked like a charm but the problem is that i can't set a password to prevent anyone from doing this.

The Mac transmission App with the 9091 listening port has a menu that allow to set a username/password authentication before accessing the Web Interface.

Is there anything similar for the Transmission Addon in Dlink?

Thanks in advance
Logged

Maxer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2017, 02:31:11 AM »

Yes, you can set the password. You need manually edit Transmission config file ./Nas_prog/Transmission/config/settings.json and set this options:

Code: [Select]
"rpc-password": "you_password",
"rpc-username": "you_login",
"rpc-authentication-required": true,

but before edit this file you must shutdown transmission.

Have a nice day!
Logged

iceage2609

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2017, 05:43:48 AM »

Yes, you can set the password. You need manually edit Transmission config file ./Nas_prog/Transmission/config/settings.json and set this options:

Code: [Select]
"rpc-password": "you_password",
"rpc-username": "you_login",
"rpc-authentication-required": true,

but before edit this file you must shutdown transmission.



Have a nice day!

Thanks so much for answering,i can shutdown transmission from the dlink interface--addons menu and press the stop button,right?
How can i edit the config plist manyally,sorry but i am a newbie :-)
Logged

shredhead1260

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2017, 01:02:10 PM »

Yes, you can shut down transmission in the gui if you don't know how to do it in command line.

To edit the file you'll need telnet or ssh access so you can go command line to the box, then use the vi editor. 

There is both a telnet and an SSH add-on you can find on the http://dlink.vtverdohleb.org.ua/Add-On/? site. After that you need a client such as Putty.
Logged

vtverdohleb

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
    • Add-Ons for D-Link NAS
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2017, 01:55:21 PM »

In Windows, you can use such as WinSCP. Or another SFTP/SCP client.
Logged
Add-on Application questions and issues, please include the following minimal information in your post:
* ShareCenter Model
* Add-on Name
* Add-on Version
* Detailed Description of your Issue
Donate: http://dlink.vtverdohleb.org.ua/Add-On/donate.php

iceage2609

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2017, 12:40:33 PM »

Yes, you can shut down transmission in the gui if you don't know how to do it in command line.

To edit the file you'll need telnet or ssh access so you can go command line to the box, then use the vi editor. 

There is both a telnet and an SSH add-on you can find on the http://dlink.vtverdohleb.org.ua/Add-On/? site. After that you need a client such as Putty.

Thanks but there is a problem with that. With Username : admin Password:theoneicreatedfroadmin i can't log in. Neither with putty or with WinSCP. The same with filezilla and other FTP apps for the ftp connection.
I can only login with the user i have created with full write/write permissions lets name it iceage2609.
With Username:iceage2609 Password:adifferentoneforthatuser i can login both FTP and SSH.
Is that how it supposed to be?

As i am sure you can imagine i can't vi the file or downloaded to the desktop or change it because it says permissions error...

Any clue?
Logged

vtverdohleb

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
    • Add-Ons for D-Link NAS
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2017, 02:29:47 AM »

Access via SSH ONLY with the login "root", if used addon "OpenSSH". All other accounts are useless, they do not have write permissions.
The account by default OpenSSH:
login: root
password: no, password is empty
Logged
Add-on Application questions and issues, please include the following minimal information in your post:
* ShareCenter Model
* Add-on Name
* Add-on Version
* Detailed Description of your Issue
Donate: http://dlink.vtverdohleb.org.ua/Add-On/donate.php

shredhead1260

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2017, 03:00:49 PM »

Let me second that. What you put into settings.json has nothing to do with the actual user accounts on the box, and Transmission will not check to see if it is valid. I used a username that doesn't even exist on the box.

If you happen to create an account and then use that info in settings.json then that's fine. You won't have SSH access for that account unless you explicitly set that up and even then the account won't have write permissions to the config files. You could go through the trouble of setting up sudo to get around this but that's an awful lot of trouble to go through to allow occasional edits to config files. I would log into SSH using the root account as vtverdohleb said.
Logged

shredhead1260

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2017, 03:04:00 PM »

forgot one more thing...

if you go to http://DNS-345-IP-address/Transmission/config.php you can edit the configuration file from the browser.

Much easier. but don't change anything if you don't know what it does.
Logged

iceage2609

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Transmission Remote Password
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2017, 06:45:06 AM »

 At last Transmission Web Interface with Password :-)  Thanks guys.

I couldn't manage the whole thing to work because i did 2 mistakes.

The first one  : my Transmission module version was the one coming with the DNS 320L out of the box, and that's 1.0....., so  http://DNS-345-IP-address/Transmission/config.php didin't work and there were no button to say configure as i can see right now after installing the v1.11_....much easier now from the browser as shredhead1260 said.

The other one was that the previous days i was trying to log in with SSH addon but User and not admin username and password ,so wrong permissions. ( Thanks vtverdohleb who said that only admin username and password will work all other accounts are useless, they do not have write permissions.)
I tried from the mac terminal to log in with  admin/passwd but nothing. Only with root/passwd i tried to log in....but it was difficult for a newbie like me to do all the command tricks so that i could change the config.json.
Finally i realize that i could it with filezilla and sftp://mynasip etc but it was too late because the installation of the new module make things much easier.

Thanks everyone for your help
Cheers
Logged