• December 07, 2019, 02:13:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Static routing between subnets  (Read 2448 times)

b17gsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Static routing between subnets
« on: November 27, 2016, 07:24:12 AM »

Hi,

I have Gargoyle running on a different router (with parental controls), and use our D-Link DIR-890L/R as an AP. Now that we have a media streamer for our Arris gateway, I have to shuffle my network around to access the media streamer through the DIR-890L/R.

My goal is to have the DIR-890 as router #1 and my Gargoyle router as #2 (as shown in this article).

https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Subnets_with_Static_Routes

The DIR-890L/R would still be in AP mode, since the media streamer needs to be on the same network subnet as the Arris gateway. The Arris gateway configurations are minimal.

Is there a way to add advanced routing options to the DIR-890L/R router (as shown under "Configure Router1 with the following information:")?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 12:20:14 PM »

Is the 890L running in full AP mode using LAN to LAN connections with the main host router? If so, it wouldn't need any static routing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 01:35:41 PM »

I'm lost. I think they want the 890l in AP mode as the 1st router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2016, 03:41:20 PM »

Would have to be Router Mode then..
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

b17gsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2016, 04:30:30 PM »

Yes, want the DIR-890 Iin AP mode.

Goal was to try to allow traffic from DIR-890 to the Gargoyle router. For the parental controls to work in Gargoyle, it must be in router mode.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2016, 05:15:48 PM »

Put then both in router mode.
Dir 890 is 192.168.1.1

Make gargoyle router mode but tell it to be 192.168.2.1.
Logged

b17gsr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2016, 08:46:26 PM »

Catch is media streamer has to be connected to Arris gateway. If there are any "routers" in the network, anything connected to a "router" won't connect to the media streamer.

However I require at least the Gargoyle router in "router" mode to keep the kids in check.

Good old catch 22.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Static routing between subnets
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2016, 06:44:45 AM »

If you leave the 890L as a LAN to LAN AP mode unit, then this should work if you connect clients to the 890L and work as a pass thru to the arris router. Also the use of the routers DMZ can be of uses for streamers as well.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 08:46:59 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting