• September 18, 2019, 03:10:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!  (Read 13063 times)

dr0p

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2017, 11:59:50 AM »

Hi

First time posting and as you can imagine it is not always easy to manage the frustration with a router. Especially a $300 one.

Constant disconnection seems to be the norm for the last 6 months at least.
My set up is fairly standard i would assume.
3 iPhone 7 plus
1 macbook pro 2016
1 macbook 2015
1 iPad pro
1 ipad air 2
1 iPad mini
1 ps4
1 apple tv 4
1 Synology NAS (wired)

They are all updated constantly.
None of them seems to maintain a stable connexion.
When watching netflix, you have 3 times a minute (i am not exaggerating) a pop up from the apple TV saying that the signal got lost and i got no connexion.
When my kids are playing on an iPad or a phone they got disconnected.
When i want to do some online gaming on the PS4, i have to cross my fingers that i can stay on for more than 5mn.

I tried SC on and off.
Now every devices got a static IP and it seems just a little bit more.
I set an auto restart daily at 4AM.
1.10 didn't change anything.
The worst part is out of the box, with the very first firmware it was working pretty well. Fast and almost reliable.
Each increment seems to get the stability even worst.
Please advise.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!
« Reply #31 on: January 23, 2017, 12:18:41 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Does v1.11 exhibit the same thing?
What OS and iOS versions do you have loaded on the Apple devices?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

I have several Apple devices my self however I'm still on 9.3.2 on my 6sP. SC enabled. I'm currently using v1.10 from the Canada site:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66025.0


Hi

First time posting and as you can imagine it is not always easy to manage the frustration with a router. Especially a $300 one.

Constant disconnection seems to be the norm for the last 6 months at least.
My set up is fairly standard i would assume.
3 iPhone 7 plus
1 macbook pro 2016
1 macbook 2015
1 iPad pro
1 ipad air 2
1 iPad mini
1 ps4
1 apple tv 4
1 Synology NAS (wired)

They are all updated constantly.
None of them seems to maintain a stable connexion.
When watching netflix, you have 3 times a minute (i am not exaggerating) a pop up from the apple TV saying that the signal got lost and i got no connexion.
When my kids are playing on an iPad or a phone they got disconnected.
When i want to do some online gaming on the PS4, i have to cross my fingers that i can stay on for more than 5mn.

I tried SC on and off.
Now every devices got a static IP and it seems just a little bit more.
I set an auto restart daily at 4AM.
1.10 didn't change anything.
The worst part is out of the box, with the very first firmware it was working pretty well. Fast and almost reliable.
Each increment seems to get the stability even worst.
Please advise.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dr0p

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!
« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2017, 07:57:45 PM »

Thank you for your answer.
the hardware version is A1
the firmware version is 1.11
i am in USA.
All iOs devices are in 10.2 (upgrading everything to 10.2.1 tonight), Macs in 10.12.2.
I am living in a area with a lot of routers sadly, up to 11 SSID are showing up.

let me know if it helps.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!
« Reply #33 on: January 24, 2017, 06:34:05 AM »

Which channels are being used by the neighboring wifi?
Can you lower the power output of the 890L from High to Medium and test? You'll have to disable SC to test this I believe...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L FW v1.11 Build 01 Official Security Release - NA Region Only!
« Reply #34 on: February 15, 2017, 03:13:13 PM »

Please review this and see if reducing the power on the wifi radio helps:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66354.0
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bballstuffer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6


Hi, new member here, recently acquired the DIR-890L and landed here due to my Apple devices kept dropping off.

I am from Canada and hardware version is A2 and the unit shipped with the v1.10 firmware. I am using it as an access point only.

Anyway, in a room that I always had bad reception, all my Apple devices will disconnect and reconnect and I concluded it's due to Smart Connect (SC). If I turn it off, then it's ok. Also it only happens to my Apple devices and does not affect any other wireless devices.

Since I would like to keep the SC feature as much as possible, I upgraded to v1.11 but results are the same. I applied the updates by first reset to default. Then put the 890L into recovery mode, then flash, reset to default one more and then setup everything again.

Posts here have indicated going to v1.09 will solve the issues and I tried just that and no more Apple devices dropping off = happy wife = happy life

So sticking with v1.09
« Last Edit: May 17, 2017, 09:44:37 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I'm not seeing this issue with my Apple devices however I'm on v1.10 using A1 model router.



I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.


Hi, new member here, recently acquired the DIR-890L and landed here due to my Apple devices kept dropping off.

I am from Canada and hardware version is A2 and the unit shipped with the v1.10 firmware. I am using it as an access point only.

Anyway, in a room that I always had bad reception, all my Apple devices will disconnect and reconnect and I concluded it's due to Smart Connect (SC). If I turn it off, then it's ok. Also it only happens to my Apple devices and does not affect any other wireless devices.

Since I would like to keep the SC feature as much as possible, I upgraded to v1.11 but results are the same. I applied the updates by first reset to default. Then put the 890L into recovery mode, then flash, reset to default one more and then setup everything again.

Posts here have indicated going to v1.09 will solve the issues and I tried just that and no more Apple devices dropping off = happy wife = happy life

So sticking with v1.09
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dr0p

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Please review this and see if reducing the power on the wifi radio helps:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66354.0

It took me a while to answer, apologizes for that.
I tried a lot of variations. I can't say how many. With static IP for each devices, with QOS on/off, different power for the wifi, factory reset, downgrade/upgrade firmware version (by the way, it is super fun when you dont have ethernet on your new fancy laptops), one network, all network. mac, pc, linux, ps4, sonos, iOs, android, etc.
When it is working, the speed is fine, each device can connect properly and you have the feeling you can check your mail on your phone while your kids are watching a movie on netflix.
But this is very rare. Most of the time i need to explain my kids that D-Link is a brand they should avoid to buy, that daddy was an idiot to buy something so unreliable (i hope you sense the humor). Each devices drop the connexion. Some days you can see that the connexion drops more than 5 times/minute. Sonos can barely play more than 3 tracks in a row.  It is absolutely horrible. I want to get a hammer and turn this router into pieces. And post it on youtube. With as many rage as possible.

For a product of that price, it is absurd. This is not an isolate case. Most of the people give up and move to a more reliable solution (aka another brand). I am probably more stubborn and want to have this product to work.

I know that Furrynutz is working hard to help everyone but frankly i tried everything i know and heard of.
Last try before giving up.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Let's downgrade from v1.11 to v1.09. I notice that prior user mentioned they went back to v1.09 and seems to have helped them. Please download the FW file, do a factory reset on the router using IE11 or FF with any PC security SW disabled temporarily. Manually load the FW using IE11 or FF. Factory reset the router once more after the FW processes. Then set up from scratch...

I recommend that if your shiny new LTs don't have any wired LAN cable ports, that you get in to a USB to LAN adapter from your nearest retailer or e-tailor shop and have on hand for doing FW updates that are recommended doing always via LAN cable connection. The adapters are fairly cheap.

IF after applying v1.09 doesn't work. Maybe we'll look into getting the router replaced. D-Link has some good products and possible that the unit could be faulty. "(i hope you sense the humor)".  ::)

Please review this and see if reducing the power on the wifi radio helps:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=66354.0

It took me a while to answer, apologizes for that.
I tried a lot of variations. I can't say how many. With static IP for each devices, with QOS on/off, different power for the wifi, factory reset, downgrade/upgrade firmware version (by the way, it is super fun when you dont have ethernet on your new fancy laptops), one network, all network. mac, pc, linux, ps4, sonos, iOs, android, etc.
When it is working, the speed is fine, each device can connect properly and you have the feeling you can check your mail on your phone while your kids are watching a movie on netflix.
But this is very rare. Most of the time i need to explain my kids that D-Link is a brand they should avoid to buy, that daddy was an ***** to buy something so unreliable (i hope you sense the humor). Each devices drop the connexion. Some days you can see that the connexion drops more than 5 times/minute. Sonos can barely play more than 3 tracks in a row.  It is absolutely horrible. I want to get a hammer and turn this router into pieces. And post it on youtube. With as many rage as possible.

For a product of that price, it is absurd. This is not an isolate case. Most of the people give up and move to a more reliable solution (aka another brand). I am probably more stubborn and want to have this product to work.

I know that Furrynutz is working hard to help everyone but frankly i tried everything i know and heard of.
Last try before giving up.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

samukets

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45

Any news about firmware update? Security Patch Firmware (1.11B01) are so unstable, too many bugs...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I believe the best version out there is v1.10 B07 or v1.09.

I haven't heard anything from D-Link about a new version as of yet. I'm still hoping though.

What are you experiencing with your unit?


Any news about firmware update? Security Patch Firmware (1.11B01) are so unstable, too many bugs...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

samukets

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45

I believe the best version out there is v1.10 B07 or v1.09.

I haven't heard anything from D-Link about a new version as of yet. I'm still hoping though.

What are you experiencing with your unit?


Any news about firmware update? Security Patch Firmware (1.11B01) are so unstable, too many bugs...

Wifi drop out, QOS dont save my options, same problems related here from others users... i can not downgrade because i use reboot schedule option and vlan option... Some times router give-me low speed on wifi, some times stock on Retrieving IP address, i need to reboot.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47758
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What version do you have currently loaded?

I know that QoS is an issue. I know that to get that going you have to factory reset, then go in and set QoS up soon after the reset.

There is a scheduled reboot option on the UI that you can have the router reboot it self.

What wireless modes are you using?
Is Smart Connect enabled or disabled?

Any other wifi signals near by?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

samukets

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45

What version do you have currently loaded?

I know that QoS is an issue. I know that to get that going you have to factory reset, then go in and set QoS up soon after the reset.

There is a scheduled reboot option on the UI that you can have the router reboot it self.

What wireless modes are you using?
Is Smart Connect enabled or disabled?

Any other wifi signals near by?

Thx for Help

1-  What version do you have currently loaded?

Current Firmware Version:   1.11, Wed 07 Sep 2016
Current Firmware Date:   2016-09-07 18:01:00

2- I know that QoS is an issue. I know that to get that going you have to factory reset, then go in and set QoS up soon after the reset.

I will try that, only do factory reset on gui or need to do a physical reset?

3- There is a scheduled reboot option on the UI that you can have the router reboot it self.

I use that but this option are avaible on 1.09 firmware version? Vlan are avaible on 1.09 too? If i need do a downgrade from 1.11 to 1.09 i will lost something?

4- What wireless modes are you using? Is Smart Connect enabled or disabled?

I really need smart connect to me is the best feature. I use 5 ghz band.

5- Any other wifi signals near by?

Too many wifi signal around. I use radio medium power.


It seems that the minimum acceptable version for my setup is 1.10 or 1.11 because of vlan and IQOS.

Firmware: FW1.10.B07
Enhancements:
1. Enhances USB performance
2. Enhances Wi-Fi Stability
3. Supports iQoS
4. Supports VLAN configuration
5. Improves IPv6 6-in-4 functionality

Thx for your help.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2017, 12:37:44 PM by samukets »
Logged

samukets

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45

With the new update released today so far I have not lost the Iqos settings. Coincidence?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4