• November 19, 2018, 01:04:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: DIR-842  (Read 5898 times)

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #30 on: March 23, 2018, 12:31:38 PM »

The WAN IP address is bothering me. That is a private IP. What is the WAN (Internet) port plugged into?

Logged

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #31 on: March 23, 2018, 12:40:42 PM »

But thats WAN IP address isn't problem for TP-Link, huh? ISP used some sort of NAT with private addresses - its nothing special nowadays. I expected that D-link device shall be a bit better than TP-Link, but unfortunately...
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #32 on: March 23, 2018, 12:45:46 PM »

The "device" that is connected to the WAN port may have the MAC address of the tp-link in memory if it is either registered with the ISP or a modem. Have you tried contacting the ISP?

The D-Link router should work so I feel like it is a setting issue.

You can try downloading the latest firmware for the router and reflash it.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1496
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #33 on: March 23, 2018, 12:54:02 PM »

Also, try cloning the mac address of your laptop. Reboot the router.  If that doesn't then either the router is defective or has some strange incompatibility issue.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #34 on: March 23, 2018, 12:56:29 PM »

I would also power OFF the ONT and see if this clears any TPLink MAC addresses. Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router.

One more item to try. IF you have a friend, neighbor or family member hear by with a different ISP set up, maybe with a standard modem, take the DIR router to there place and see if it works there. This will tell you weather or not the DIR router is really bad or not. Need some other ISP testing to see this if possible.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 12:58:16 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #35 on: March 23, 2018, 12:58:20 PM »

As i wrote i can connect laptop directly to modem without restarting it and use Internet immediately. Router sees connection to ISP side(green Globus, green connection on Home page, IP address, etc., but it  doesn't route packets between LAN and WAN. Ironic, internal configuration page can be accessed via both methods: LAN and WiFi - so i assume that settings and configuration are in place.
Router already has 2.02 firmware - it is possible that reflashing changes something?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #36 on: March 23, 2018, 01:07:56 PM »

What is the result when you open up a cmd window and run tracert to say www.dlink.com
Copy and paste the text info here please.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #37 on: March 23, 2018, 01:11:57 PM »

I would also power OFF the ONT and see if this clears any TPLink MAC addresses. Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router.

One more item to try. IF you have a friend, neighbor or family member hear by with a different ISP set up, maybe with a standard modem, take the DIR router to there place and see if it works there. This will tell you weather or not the DIR router is really bad or not. Need some other ISP testing to see this if possible.

If i power off modem or disconnect WAN cable - on Internet page IP address, mask, GW, DNS are cleared, connection to internet is broken and in red. After reconnection all things are in place, connection is green.
"Connect the DIR router up and power ON the ONT first, then power ON the DIR router" - nothing happens.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #38 on: March 23, 2018, 01:23:26 PM »

What is the result when you open up a cmd window and run tracert to say www.dlink.com
Copy and paste the text info here please.

Do have a friend, family or neighbor you can take the router too and see if it works in a different location?

Only other thing would be to do a factory reset, use IE11 or FF and re-load same FW version again. You can even try this method and get the FW loaded:
Emergency Recovery Mode

After it's loaded, do a factory reset then this time walk thru the set up wizard and see if it will set up the router for you.

If all this fails, something is wrong with the DIR router. Let us know if you can test it at a different location.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 01:39:58 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #39 on: March 23, 2018, 02:13:42 PM »

Ping and tracert - nothing interesting :(:


I do reflashing, factory reset, wizard - no changes
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #40 on: March 23, 2018, 02:25:58 PM »

What region are you located?

Ya something isn't good on the DIR router. I would contact your regional D-Link support office and ask them for an RMA. I don't think taking the router to a different location may help however maybe worth a quick test if you have this option. I would get an RMA started however in mean time.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #41 on: March 23, 2018, 11:09:48 PM »

Poland, Katowice district.
Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46160
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #42 on: March 24, 2018, 12:12:27 PM »

Please made contact with your regional D-Link office and asked for an RMA.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 2 [3]