• August 17, 2019, 10:17:30 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?  (Read 4152 times)

Encyclia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« on: September 08, 2016, 01:23:09 PM »

Hello,
I am a real rookie at this stuff, but my router recently stopped broadcasting the 5.0GHz version of my signal. The 2.4GHz version still seems to work fine. None of my devices can connect to the 5.0GHz signal including my phone, Roku, etc. when they used to work just fine.

I tried to set the router up again through the connection wizard and I tried updating the firmware to 1.10 (successfully, it appears).

Thanks very much for any help you can provide.

Mark
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2016, 02:26:51 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected? Do they support 5Ghz?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Encyclia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 03:01:27 PM »

What Hardware version is your router? A1
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? 1.10
What region are you located? United States
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? Not the first time, but I just went through and did one and gave it a new name.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Fiber through the city of Longmont, CO.
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Calix/Anatel 716GE-I

Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual. Already done.
What wireless modes are you using? The default? 2.4 and 5.0 2.4 works, 5.0 doesn't
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz? I don't know what this means.
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only. I don't know what this means.
Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz. I don't know what this means.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES. I think is WPA2, but not sure. Password is 32 characters long.
What wireless devices do you have connected? Do they support 5Ghz? Roku, Smart TV, phones - all used to use the 5.0 and now they can't
Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated. N/A
Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences? Not that I am aware of. We are in a house, not an apartment. No new signals in the list.
Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

Thanks!
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 05:13:57 PM »

Log into the router and see it its been turned off. If so, turn it back on. That should be your fist action taken.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2016, 06:32:23 AM »

Once you do a factory reset, both radios should be enabled by default and will have default SSID names. Change both names to some thing different and keep separate.
I would try one test where you disable WPA security temporarily and then test to see if any of your devices see's the 5Ghz ssid name and connect. If so then turn ON WPA Personal and set WPA2 and AES only and test.



What Hardware version is your router? A1
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? 1.10
What region are you located? United States
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? Not the first time, but I just went through and did one and gave it a new name.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Fiber through the city of Longmont, CO.
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Calix/Anatel 716GE-I

Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual. Already done.
What wireless modes are you using? The default? 2.4 and 5.0 2.4 works, 5.0 doesn't
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz? I don't know what this means.
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only. I don't know what this means.
Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz. I don't know what this means.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES. I think is WPA2, but not sure. Password is 32 characters long.
What wireless devices do you have connected? Do they support 5Ghz? Roku, Smart TV, phones - all used to use the 5.0 and now they can't
Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated. N/A
Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences? Not that I am aware of. We are in a house, not an apartment. No new signals in the list.
Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 09:09:50 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Encyclia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2016, 03:45:37 PM »

Ok, I disabled the security by setting Security Mode to "None." Sure enough, the 5.0GHz SSID was visible and connected just fine on my phone and Roku box. I then set the Security Mode back to WPA-Personal and chose "WPA Only" for the WPA mode and "AES" for the Cipher Type. The radio disappears again with these settings.

Thanks again for helping me,

Mark
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2016, 05:53:08 PM »

Does setting WPA2 and TPIK show?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Encyclia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2016, 05:58:47 AM »

Nope, doesn't show with those settings. 2.4 is fine in all of the modes you have suggested, though.

Thanks!

Mark
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2016, 06:53:28 AM »

Ya, this is odd, 5Ghz works with out WPA then doesn't when it's activated.
Can you tired all of your 5Ghz supporting devices while WPA was enable?
How long have you had this unit? May need to get this unit RMAd.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Encyclia

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2016, 11:42:19 AM »

Yes, I did try both my phone and Roku. I agree it's strange :-) It may be time to call D-Link support and see if they will take it back.

Thanks again for all of your help.

Mark
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47675
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5.0GHz signal disappeared?
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2016, 11:45:17 AM »

Ya see if there is an RMA option. This is a great router too. Let us know how it goes.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting