• October 20, 2017, 06:12:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?  (Read 1059 times)

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« on: September 08, 2016, 07:40:09 AM »

http://www.costco.com/Seagate-Expansion-3TB--Portable-Hard-Drive.product.100295003.html

Am wondering if any power issues. I know Seagate's reliability track record seems not to be as good as WD but for the price this is tempting. Anyone try this?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2016, 08:10:50 AM »

Might ask Seagate support or a Seagate forums for any feedback. Check on some user reviews from other retailer sites like newegg.com or pricewatch maybe.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2016, 08:19:31 PM »

I can confirm that the DNR202L does recognize a 3TB Seagate Expansion HDD. Seagate sets it up as a MBR disk and if you leave it as it is the DNR format will fail. Need to covert the drive to GPT. Once that is done the format will work but remember to check the NTFS option. I have not tried to see how it records and plays back but IMO its the cheapest option I could find as far as $/storage space.

Want to add on first two attempts to format I left the FAT 32 box as default thinking the DNR will format to its own format. Regardless, Seagate sets up the disk as an MBR disk and in W7 64 bit I only say a 2TB partition. After coverting to GPT it wont even recognize the drive. But Crystal Disk and Partition Magic did. By the way, how would one use such a GPT drive in Windows? Is it even possible?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 08:27:49 PM by BAMoh »
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2016, 08:57:58 PM »

on. I have not tried to see how it records and plays back but IMO its the cheapest option I could find as far as $/storage space.

I wasn't able to see what you paid @ costco since it was only available to members?

I'd guess $99 for 3TB?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2016, 09:21:52 PM »

I found 4TB WD Reds on amazon for $75 each.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2016, 09:29:26 PM »

And those do not plug into a DNR-202L.... :'(

WD has a purple line for surveillance. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2016, 09:40:52 PM »

Maybe...  ;D
« Last Edit: September 10, 2016, 04:04:37 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2016, 10:08:10 PM »

on. I have not tried to see how it records and plays back but IMO its the cheapest option I could find as far as $/storage space.

I wasn't able to see what you paid @ costco since it was only available to members?

I'd guess $99 for 3TB?
$89 member price. I thought it was a good deal despite apprehensions about Seagate. Costco has a lifetime warranty on their stuff but it doesnt matter if you lost your computer data. In this case its not business data so why not try it.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2016, 10:10:05 PM »

I found 4TB WD Reds on amazon for $75 each.
Can you show me the link?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2016, 10:15:43 PM »

RYATT, you have swapped out HDDs on yours before. If HDD 1 is not full but you eject it and insert HDD2 in the 1st slot obviously it will record to HDD2. But if you were to return HDD 1 to the first slot, what happens? Does it record starting where it last stopped or does it rewrite everything?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2016, 10:19:14 PM »

RYATT, you have swapped out HDDs on yours before. If HDD 1 is not full but you eject it and insert HDD2 in the 1st slot obviously it will record to HDD2. But if you were to return HDD 1 to the first slot, what happens? Does it record starting where it last stopped or does it rewrite everything?

I only moved ports... hold button in until unmount... then move to next usb port... no issues that I saw... kept on recording...

so I imagine in your case - as long as the drive is properly configured/formatted - it will accept and record....
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2016, 10:52:53 PM »

So it continued where it left off earlier as the drive was not full?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
Re: Has anyone tried a Seagate Expansion USB HDD on the 202?
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2016, 09:47:18 AM »

So it continued where it left off earlier as the drive was not full?

Well, I have another post here about when I pulled the drive out and put it in a PC.

It's building a data base of something like Year/Month/Day/Hour...

it writes the files into those locations,so it would continue at the new year/month/day/hour/time.

Logged