• September 15, 2019, 05:57:03 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WPS button does not work  (Read 2267 times)

Bernster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
WPS button does not work
« on: July 21, 2016, 07:28:39 AM »

Using an invisible SSID.  Pushed WPS button per manual and internet light does not flash.  How fix?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPS button does not work
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 07:34:18 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Does WPS work if you unhid the SSID?
I recommend not using WPS and connect to the SSID name using the SSID name and PW.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bernster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WPS button does not work
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 10:18:56 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.  A1
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • 1.05WW
  • What region are you located? USA
I was hiding SSID as an extra security measure because I found someone on my network.  How can I protect network from prowlers?  I have wpa/wpa2 personal set up.  I changed the password for the router and the wireless login.  Anything else I can do?

I am using a Asus Dual Band (2.4GHz 300Mbps/5GHz 300Mbps) Wireless-N USB Adapter on the only  laptop which is wireless and I could not figure out how to connect the router on the adapter without SSID.  Seemed like it could be done with WPS but I could not get WPS to work on router. 

Thanks
Does WPS work if you unhid the SSID? YES
I recommend not using WPS and connect to the SSID name using the SSID name and PW.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 10:23:54 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPS button does not work
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2016, 10:26:06 AM »

As long as you keep WPA2 settings and don't give out your SSID and PW, prowlers can't gain access. There are scanners that can see hidden SSIDs.

Your FW is behind, you could upgrade and test again to see. It's possible that using WPS and hidden SSIDs may not work.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bernster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WPS button does not work
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2016, 07:02:54 AM »

Thanks.   I had run firmware upgrade from router and it indicated it had the latest version.  Where are upgrades to download.  Is beta safe?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPS button does not work
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2016, 07:15:53 AM »

This is an official release, not beta:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64891.0

Any betas are safe to use as if they don't work well, you can go back to using a prior version of FW.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting