• September 20, 2019, 01:14:18 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.  (Read 1390 times)

FairyMental

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
« on: June 27, 2016, 03:53:23 AM »

Hello. Here are the specs:
HW Version: A1
FM Version: 1.07

Motherboard: MSI B150 PC MATE (Yes, it can handle 1000Mbps)
ISP: RCS-RDS
Country: ROmania
WAN: DHCP
Cable type: CAT5E

If I connect my PC directly to the ISP cable, it can reach 950+ Mbps, if I connect it through the router, I only get 350 Mbps.
QOS disabled. Anything else is probably set to default.

I'm not an advanced user of routers, please try to explain even simple processes :)
Logged

FairyMental

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 04:19:40 AM »

Possible solutions attempted:
-Changed CAT5E cable with another CAT5E cable. No change.
-Reset router to factory settings. No effect :(
-Turned off wireless broadcast, only LAN is active, only 1 computer connected. No effect.
-Turned off Advanced DNS, DNS Relay and every possible option of firewall. No effect.
-Changed firmware to ddwrt: Cap increased to 420 Mbps.

« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 06:56:25 AM by FairyMental »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 06:53:35 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites

Link> Cat6 is recommended.[/li][/list]

Downlink speeds and connection rates are different. Connection rate is the connection between the PC and the router only. !000Mb is a rate between them and not data flow. Data flow and speeds is the flow from the ISP thru the Router to the PC.

After a factory reset, disable Traffic Shaping, QoS, SPI and set IPv6 to Local Only and test...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FairyMental

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 07:06:05 AM »

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cable, I believe? I have optic fibre contract.
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? No modem present in my house.
What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5434896644

Cat6 cable I'm getting that either tomorrow, or this thursday. Current cable: Cat5e, should though perform good enough.

Factory resetted and turned everything possible off, including QOS (Disabled by default anyway), Traffic Shaping ((Disabled by default anyway) and I do not have IPv6.

Now I switched my firmware to DDRWT, slight increase of speed...sometimes :))

As stated in the main topic: I get 900+ Mbsp directly connected to ISP, through router is falls to 350~ ish Mbps. So it's either the router, or the cable, or both. Also having settings that would reduce the download speed by 70%, I find it bulls*** as a programmer, efficiency = NEGATIVE!

Gonna send this router soon enough to warranty, and hope to get a different one. Seems I'm not the only one fighting with this issue that has no clear solution to anyone.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot bypass 350 Mbps.
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 07:23:18 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting