• October 19, 2020, 11:36:38 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setting up VPN on DSR-250  (Read 4069 times)

caleb7777

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Setting up VPN on DSR-250
« on: June 24, 2016, 11:03:52 PM »

I have tried a number of different service providers. I can get windows clients to connect and provide me with VPN no problem. I can use the services to manually create VPN connections in windows which work. So I thought I would go one step further, buy a VPN router, and have all my internet traffic for the house go through a VPN of my choice. I have not been able to get any VPN connections to work with this router such that I still have internet access on my devices. The closest I have gotten is using AirVPN I can establish a connection but once the connection is up any internet calls that go to my router from any connected device come back 'server not found'. Opera goes one step furthere and reports that the DNS could not be resolved. I tried setting wans etup so that DNS server is the airVPN recommended and also tried google DNS there (8.8.8.8)but I cannot get the VPN to work and still have internet access. If I turn the oVPN client off I again have internet but am not behind a VPN. The VPN connection does show up in my account as active on the remote system. (I have to check this using a separate internet connection of course). So I believe it is connecting but the interenet does not work while connected. I have not been able to get any VPN service to work through this router however. I am more than willing to test others and post results.




(User Auth is turned off)

Can someone help me test this router? Have I got a dud? I have Firmware Version: 1.09B32_WW Hardware Version: A1

On a side note I still get the bad certificate error trying to access router as well but haven't found a firmware update for A1 that fixes this yet.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting up VPN on DSR-250
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 08:34:48 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Is there any information in the user manual on setting up the router for VPN services?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caleb7777

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setting up VPN on DSR-250
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2016, 05:15:16 AM »

Quote
    What region are you located?
Canada


Quote
Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

    What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
    What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Not sure how this applies... I use a small private company who uses cell towers. I believe my current radio is running 3G or 4G. It connects to WAN port like any other. Uses dynamic host connection. I have no problem establishing VPN connections from my computer using the windows built in VPN client or using service providers downloaded clients. They all connect and work well. If I try to use the same settings in the router, I lose my internet connectivity on all devices connected to the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting up VPN on DSR-250
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2016, 06:36:31 AM »

Reason for asking about ISP services is NAT condition. Single NAT is preferred, double NAT can't cause problems.

Seems like either this maybe a configuration issue or something with the router. This needs to be reviewed by D-Link support. I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

You have a Rev A1 router which I don't know if FW is being developed on. I would ask them if an A2 or B1 rev would be a better option to keep FW update support going.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!