• December 12, 2019, 12:34:21 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: New Firmware...any news?  (Read 5428 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2017, 08:43:07 AM »

Look at the EMU page and you'll see My Internet Connection IS:
http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dir880l/101/Internet.html

If your modem is not bridged then the router is probably using DHCP. It's recommended to have the ISP modem bridged and let the router handle the PPPoE connection.
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
« Last Edit: July 07, 2017, 08:46:08 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2017, 03:05:09 PM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

crom

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2017, 09:19:10 AM »

Without additional Apple iPhone smartphone and Apple tablet iPad, the situation is returned ok.
Curious to see what will happen, one day I have added (from my friends) 2 additional Samsung smartphones - everything was ok all day long too.
In conclusion, I can say only "boh?"... :)

In the meantime, the new beta firmware v1.11B02.BETA01 (security advisement) was released. Do you have any idea approximately when will beta become the official final release?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2017, 09:31:30 AM »

So this was with the new Beta loaded?

Without additional Apple iPhone smartphone and Apple tablet iPad, the situation is returned ok.
Curious to see what will happen, one day I have added (from my friends) 2 additional Samsung smartphones - everything was ok all day long too.
In conclusion, I can say only "boh?"... :)

In the meantime, the new beta firmware v1.11B02.BETA01 (security advisement) was released. Do you have any idea approximately when will beta become the official final release?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

crom

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2017, 09:54:56 AM »

No. my firmware is 1.10 dated 29.7.2016.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2017, 10:07:33 AM »

Were seeing way better wifi results with the BETA.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

crom

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2017, 05:16:24 AM »

Today I changed my Internet provider, now I have 120 Mbit/s cable Internet: DIR-890L connected to Router Technicolor TC7200.20.
During this first hour everything ok, let's wait 7-8 days :)

By the way:

*
the admin page of "DIR-890L" and "Technicolor TC7200.20" is the same: 192.168.0.1
so I was able to access the DIR-890L admin page only via wifi at http://dlinkrouter.local and setup the new connection with the setup wizard;

*
regarding missing new firmwares at D-link Croatian support page, I tried today 20 times to call D-Link Adria (+385 1 61 89 142) but the line is always occupied.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2017, 08:27:43 AM »

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.

Today I changed my Internet provider, now I have 120 Mbit/s cable Internet: DIR-890L connected to Router Technicolor TC7200.20.
During this first hour everything ok, let's wait 7-8 days :)

By the way:

*
the admin page of "DIR-890L" and "Technicolor TC7200.20" is the same: 192.168.0.1
so I was able to access the DIR-890L admin page only via wifi at http://dlinkrouter.local and setup the new connection with the setup wizard;

*
regarding missing new firmwares at D-link Croatian support page, I tried today 20 times to call D-Link Adria (+385 1 61 89 142) but the line is always occupied.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

crom

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2017, 11:07:36 AM »

Hi FurryNutz, thanks for your reply.
After few hours everything seems ok.
Without me doing anything, inside DIR-890L Settings/Network the LAN IP Address is now 192.168.100.1 and with wired connection I can access now the DIR-890L admin page without any problem.
I'm running Linux Ubuntu 17.04, here's my Speedtest.net by Ookla made with wireless connection:
PING 12 ms
DOWNLOAD 115.13 Mbps
UPLOAD 13.68 Mbps

~$ nmcli dev wifi
*  SSID                    MODE     CHAN         RATE           SIGNAL      BARS        SECURITY 
   Blabla                  Infra          1        54 Mbit/s          87        ▂▄▆█        WPA1 WPA2
   Blabla                  Infra        52         54 Mbit/s         70         ▂▄▆_        WPA1 WPA2
*  Blabla                  Infra       100        54 Mbit/s         67         ▂▄▆_        WPA1 WPA2

What do you think?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2017, 11:10:32 AM »

There we go. Speeds look better.
Wired speed testing is always best to check. Looks like wireless is good to.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2253
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2017, 12:31:23 PM »

New gen routers will change the LAN IP address to 192.168.100.1 automatically if the WAN side gets a 192.168.0.1 IP address.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2017, 04:59:04 PM »

Thank you for confirming this Sir.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

crom

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2017, 05:08:02 AM »

Hi FurryNutz,
regarding the missing new firmwares at D-link Croatian support page, today I called again D-Link Adria (+385 1 61 89 142) but the line is always occupied just like the last time.
My hardware is A1, today I installed the "DIR-890L_REVA_FIRMWARE_PATCH_v1.11B02.BETA01" from http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-890L%2FR
Everything seems ok, here's a comparison of performance between the two firmwares (FW v1.11 measured few times):



FW v1.11: wifi quality measured by Wavemon:
(can you please tell me if within statistics, the RX drop 56 and TX retries 1,390 is ok?)



FW v1.11: my Android smartphone - connection 72 Mb/s (2.4 GHz)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47980
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New Firmware...any news?
« Reply #28 on: August 02, 2017, 08:41:54 AM »

I don't know specifically about this wavemon and how it works so not sure if it's picking up drops and retries is correct or what it's just seeing with just this one android device. You would have to test again another wireless device.

Glad v1.11 is working better for you. I and others feel the same.

I'll see if I can get some help on your regional D-Link office.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]