• November 18, 2019, 08:34:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset  (Read 8883 times)

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« on: May 02, 2016, 11:19:20 PM »

Hi all!

I have 3x DGS-1100-08, configuration as discussed here http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=64742.0:

In the past week, I had two of the switches just randomly reset to factory reset.  ???
Last week, I realised there's a problem with my Internet access and saw that I can't access the web interface of one of the three switches. Using the D-Link discovery tool, I saw that the switch had the default IP again. I fact, all settings were reset (IP, password, VLAN configuration.. everything).

Today, this happened to one of the other two switches too.

Is this a known problem? Anything I can do!?

Thanks
Patrick
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 07:29:29 AM »

Ensure nobody has access to the UI or causing a reset?
Ensure the configurations on the switches are correct?
Ensure cabling and connections are good come and going from the switches. CAT 6 recommended.
Swap switches to see if problem continues.
Move switch to different network or location to see if problem follows.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2016, 01:56:40 PM »


Ensure nobody has access to the UI or causing a reset?
Ensure the configurations on the switches are correct?
Ensure cabling and connections are good come and going from the switches. CAT 6 recommended.
Swap switches to see if problem continues.
Move switch to different network or location to see if problem follows.

Thanks for your feedback! Here are my comments:
- No one has access except me. My wife doesn't know how to access the web interface, believe me  :D I would rule out a hacker for now but this has crossed my mind too.
- Configuration is fine, works as expected and discussed in the other thread.
- I'm using CAT6 and CAT7 cables. Just checked under L2 Features -> Statistics. TX Error is always 0 for all ports. In average, RxError make for about 0.05% of packages. Not sure if this is a good value?
- Will see if this happens again. So far, it happend to 2 of 3 switches so not much left to swap.
- OK, if it happens again, I'll consider trying the switch in another network.

This is very frustrating as it happened without any clear cause and only twice so far. If it happens more often in the future, I'll consider replacing the switches with another brand / make.  :-[
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2016, 02:08:47 PM »

I would also do a factory reset on one of the switches and run default factory settings as a un-configured switch or maybe make one small minor change to one that's experiencing this, then set it run it and see if it still happens. If it does then you'll know. They may need to be RMAd.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2016, 01:41:45 AM »

OK thanks. I will have to make time to "reset" my network. Currently, I can't simply factory reset one of the switches as I'm using VLANs and they wouldn't be able to properly communicate with each other.  ::)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2016, 07:00:34 AM »

Let us know how it goes. I'm hoping the run ok with out any problems in default normal switch mode with out configuring VLANs. Then depending on results, configure VLANs and test again.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2016, 02:16:16 PM »

OK, some more insights. Did a factory reset on all three switches and only setup VLANs, nothing else.
I had the following (slightly different) scenario about 3 times the past two days:
I was suddenly not able to access the switches web interface. Pings would also not work anymore. Interestingly, the switch was still operational, just the web interface wasn't available anymore.

I then unplugged the switch and put the power back on. This time, the IP addresses where still setup correctly and I was able to access the web interface again after a few seconds (boot up). But the VLAN settings were gone!?

I now did a factory reset on all three switches and did NOT configure any VLANs. Let's see how this goes.

This is really starting to drive me crazy.  >:(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2016, 08:22:38 AM »

Seems like something is getting hung up on the switches.

Let us know how the reset and configure goes.

If this happens again, I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gribnut

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2016, 05:19:06 PM »

I have two DGS-1100-08 switches that have same behavior where the configuration is intermittently/randomly lost and reverts back to factory default settings.  Fortunately I have a backup of the configuration so it is easy to restore when I'm at home, but causes my major issue when I'm remote.  It appears that dlink has provided a beta version of the firmware to fix this issue per Amazon feedback of one user: http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R101SBWTN3ZCO6/ref=cm_cr_getr_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B008ABLU2I

I have opened a case w/ D-Link support to see if a beta version of the firmware is available that will resolve my problem.  I will post follow up if support provides a solution.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2016, 09:36:40 PM »

Thanks for the info and feed back. Please post if you get any information from D-Link support. I recommend using Phone support as well.

I have two DGS-1100-08 switches that have same behavior where the configuration is intermittently/randomly lost and reverts back to factory default settings.  Fortunately I have a backup of the configuration so it is easy to restore when I'm at home, but causes my major issue when I'm remote.  It appears that dlink has provided a beta version of the firmware to fix this issue per Amazon feedback of one user: http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R101SBWTN3ZCO6/ref=cm_cr_getr_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B008ABLU2I

I have opened a case w/ D-Link support to see if a beta version of the firmware is available that will resolve my problem.  I will post follow up if support provides a solution.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2016, 04:04:12 AM »

@gribnut: Do you have any updates on this? Did the new firmware resolve the issues for you?

One of my switches did another reset this week even now that I don't use VLANs anymore. Your comment also led me to check amazon reviews and this seems to be a known issue! I now saw, that there's a newer firmware (1.10.039). I updated all three but I couldn't find anything special in the changelog (not for this version at least).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2016, 09:14:07 AM »

Did the FW update help any?  ???

@gribnut: Do you have any updates on this? Did the new firmware resolve the issues for you?

One of my switches did another reset this week even now that I don't use VLANs anymore. Your comment also led me to check amazon reviews and this seems to be a known issue! I now saw, that there's a newer firmware (1.10.039). I updated all three but I couldn't find anything special in the changelog (not for this version at least).
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pgruetter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2016, 11:08:17 AM »

Thanks for asking, forgot to update. So far I didn't have any resets, but also didn't configure VLANs so far. Without VLANs, it took considerably longer for one of the switches to reset.

I did open a service request though! Someone from D-Link Europe called back and told me that the issues are completely new to them  :( Apparently none of the other customers that mentioned these problems on Amazon actually filed a request. Or they did and the supporter didn't find it  ;D He did close the ticket and said to reopen it should the issues happen again on the latest firmware.

Guess I will configure VLANs again this week and see if any problems come up in the coming few weeks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2016, 11:12:00 AM »

Let us know how it goes...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gribnut

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DGS-1100-08 randomly do a factory reset
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2016, 12:40:40 PM »

Update in case anyone still monitoring thread.  DLink provided beta version of firmware 1.10.B038 that did resolve my issue where switches would revert back to factory default settings.  As mentioned by pgruetter, DLink has since provided a new firmware update 1.10.39.  I'm assuming the fix that existed in 1.10.B038 was included in 1.10.39.  Change log for 1.10.39 is non-existent far as I can find.  I will be updating my switches to this latest version as well.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2