• November 21, 2019, 01:28:05 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: mydlink.com security question  (Read 1592 times)

goines

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
mydlink.com security question
« on: June 27, 2016, 01:22:19 PM »

Hello myDlink experts. I purchased a refurbished DCS-933L device. After pulling my hair and not understanding why it did not install properly my finding or guess so far is that it was not disconnected from the previous account. I managed to connect the camera with WPS keys at home. I could login and edit the device setting. I could view the camera Picture as long as I was on my own home local network but when away from home it was not visible (in external devices). This was in the mydlink lite app. I mydlink.com the device was never visible. When I did the windows wizad installation procedure the windows software detects the camera and also informs me that the camera is already registered to a mydlink account. Since it is not visible in mydlink.com in my account i guess it is visible in someone elses account. Please tell me this is not the case. (When the camera is fully working I will for sure move the camera and try!!!)

1
So during my hairpulling Days last week. Could someone access this camera within the the previous account in their mydlink.com?
This would be the same thing if I move a registered and fully functional camera to someone elses network. Will I be able to still see my camera in mydlink.com?

2 sinse I did a hard reset on the camera I really Believe the device should during that process be disconnected to any account or?¨

3 IS it possible for me to see or get the information on what account my camera is connected to?

thank you
regards
Gus
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: mydlink.com security question
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 02:00:15 PM »

There might be information in the camera log in the f/w page.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink.com security question
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 02:29:18 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

Was this camera bought used? If so it needs to be removed from with in the account it was associated with. There's no way to tell which account it's been associated with from your perspective. I don't know if D-Link support can see that or not. Might phone contact support and ask.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

goines

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: mydlink.com security question
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 03:01:09 PM »

Hi,

I already asked DLINK support same type of questions. But I thought the answers could be both faster and engaged!

I did not find much in any log. I did not find any particular log section actually.....

The DCS-933L camera is HW  ´version A1.

I was told it was the last unit and that the box was opened because the camera had been on display. Now it seems the camera have been a customer returned device.

I am using a netgear wndr4500 N900 bought at walmart a few years ago. Thinking of upgrading to asus rt ac87.

If it now is asociated with Another account - should it not be reset when I do a hard reset on the camera? Or factory default for that matter...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: mydlink.com security question
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 10:02:07 AM »

Try the factory reset, it should clear out and then set up the camera again using the SW setup program found at mydlink.com. It should ask you if you want to associate with a MDL account, you should be able to input a new account here.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting