• December 09, 2019, 09:59:00 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: MAC address filter - after some time stops working  (Read 3093 times)

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas
MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« on: February 12, 2016, 07:50:49 AM »

Hi.

I have a 2 floor house, at first floor have my router a GPON-2516, and at second floor the DAP-1360 acting as a repeater

I've managed to make both devices work fine (after several tests and setups) so now my house has full WIFi coverage of the same SSID.

Each floor has a Samsung SmartTV, but they are not smart, the 2nd floor TV always wanted to connect to the GPON at 1st floor and my 1st floor TV always wants to connect to the 2nd floor DAP-1360 (see, the Samsung SmartTVs are not smart enough)

So I implemented MAC filter with both devices, GPON denies access to 2nd floor tv and DAP-1360 denies access to 1st floor TV
The GPON works fine

But the DAP-1360 on a random basis fails and allows the 1st floor tv to connect, even that my 1st floor tv is on the deny list! >:( I've tried to reboot the DAP-1360 and also to remove and re-add the 1st floor tv and tried at several of the different columns of the MAC Address filter, with no result, at some point the DAP-1360 allows the 1st floor tv to connect and so my streaming services like netflix suffer from this.

Any idea of how to fix this? how to make the MAC address filter to work 100%?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2016, 07:56:51 AM »

Link>Welcome Back!

  • What Hardware version is your DAP? Look at the sticker under the DAP.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DAPs web page under status.

Is the DAP repeating wireless signal from the GPON? Can you set MAC filters on the GPON only for ALL devices and test? Disable MAC Filters on the DAP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2016, 09:20:15 AM »

Hi FurryNutz

The Hardware revision is C and the firmware is 3.04

About updating the firmware, remember that I applied 3-06 and he DAP-1360 went crazy:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=62278.msg255273#msg255273

The DAP is repeating WiFi signal from the GPON.
One of my first tests was to only enable the GPON MAC filtering and disabled it from DAP.
The GPON filtered devices successfully and my 1st floor TV sometimes connected to the DAP and sometimes to the GPON.

What is strange is that when the DAP MAC filtering is on and DENY the 1st floor TV, initially it works and eventually at a random basis, will ALLOW the 1st floor Tv

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2016, 09:05:01 AM »

Ok, how about try to enable MAC Filtering only on the DAP?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2016, 10:54:12 AM »

Hi Furrynutz.

Already tried that. And the same results.

What I have done is that I've added my 1st floor tv to DAP's MAC deny list at one of the bottom rows. It has been 4 days and so far the issue has not showed up.

Hope this is the solution. Will keep you posted.

As always thanks for the assistance dude!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2016, 11:13:14 AM »

So placement of the values in the UI seems to be a point of interest?

Please post if a picture of before configuration and after of the DAP.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2016, 07:54:45 PM »

Hi Furrynutz

I checked and even that I added the 1st tv floor MAC to the bottom lines, now DAP displays it at the top.

and guess what, the problem is present again  :( sometimes DAP blocks access to the 1st floor TV other times it allows

So udating firmware is not an option, I guess I have to deal with it
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: MAC address filter - after some time stops working
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2016, 06:53:59 AM »

Ok, seems like a bug on this one.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting