• October 16, 2019, 12:20:25 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong  (Read 4253 times)

jnsunkersett

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

Hi,

I use a Dlink 2750U, ADSL modem+router. It was working fine until 2 days.

But now, the lights glow correctly - first red, then the green-blinking to a steady green - so I guess the internet connection with my ISP provider is okay.
(the Lan-1 and Wifi indicator led are also green)

The router is connected to my PC, using a physical LAN cable, but it says No internet access.
When I try browsing to http://192.168.1.1, I am getting a "Page cannot be displayed" error.

I changed the LAN cable as well as replaced the PC with a LAPTOP (physical lan cable connection and not wifi) - but that did not help

What could be wrong?
Would appreciate any trouble-shooting steps.

PS: I recall that I had accidentally pressed the small buttons (WPS and Wifi) on the back of the router - when it was working perfectly, after which the problem started.

thanks
Jeevan
« Last Edit: March 31, 2016, 11:34:10 PM by jnsunkersett »
Logged

jnsunkersett

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 11:32:58 PM »

to add to the above - I subscribe to a ADSL connection and the splitter and telephone line connections have not been disturbed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2016, 07:20:39 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your modem? Look at the sticker under modem.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the modems web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.


PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again. (For older generation routers.)
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jnsunkersett

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2016, 09:26:26 AM »

Hi,

I am located in Pune, India and my ISP is BSNL.
   As I said the modem+router was working perfectly and this happened when I accidentally pressed the WPS and WIFI buttons on the back.
   I suspect a hardware issue with my router - but not sure.

I performed a factory-reset on my 2750U and then used using the manufacturer supplied CD program - ClickConnect.exe and used a physical lan  cable (CAT-5) to connect router and PC.

I get an error with the program - please see these pictures, for details

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dwkdy7s0mgzb9re/Click-Connect-Error.png?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3o8hf2i117iact6/Router-LED.png?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wkyvx1cbo4ty06y/Browse-to-192-168-1-1.png?dl=0
in
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/b1d4g5vtboeftwi/AADH-XvU6ZjIR2MAtRrsZ4zBa?dl=0

thanks
Jeevan
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2016, 11:02:16 AM »

I recommend that you disable WPS on the modem and see if this changes any behaviors.
WPS isn't really needed as long as you connect to the WiFi SSID name and PW.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jnsunkersett

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2016, 12:48:49 AM »

Thanks all,

Problem resolved.
I visited the local DLink service center (in Pune) and the technician performed a hardware reset off the modem and things were fine.

I am not sure what went wrong, when I tried a reset.
I had held the reset button for 10 seconds or more and then released it - but nothing had happened.

So please can someone document the exact process of a hardware reset. viz.;
1. Should the reset button be pressed with modem switched ON ?
Or should it be
2. With modem OFF, keeping the reset button depressed, switch the modem ON ?

How should the lights on the modem behave, when reset is being performed?

thanks
Jeevan.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The admin link 192.168.1.1 is not accessible - what could be wrong
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2016, 06:54:34 AM »

Resets needs to be done with the unit ON.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting